Limiting the Blog Love – A Tuesday Top Ten List

Top Ten TuesdayI am not a blogging expert and am really very new at this whole blogging thing. One thing I have learned is that blogging and following blogs can be all time-consuming. I am learning that I cannot possibly follow each blog that catches my eye. I have to make decisions about which ones to follow.  It comes down to time management. There are so many super blogs that really speak to me. Those are the ones on which I will concentrate.

For this week’s list, I am listing blog characteristics that will keep me from following a blog, or cause me to stop following a blog that I previously followed.  This is my personal criteria. I am not trying to impose my criteria on anyone else. I am simply stating those things that I will not follow. Restricting my blogs may cause me to miss some really great information, but realistically I cannot follow everything.

I will not follow blogs if:
  1. The blog’s focus does not interest me. I have many interests and in blogs that include a random set of topics I always find something of interest.  However, if the blog has a single focus on a topic that does not appeal to me, I won’t follow it. This is just common sense. I am not suggesting anyone should change their focus because we write about what is meaningful to us. We just choose not to read things that are not appealing. Admittedly, I am following blogs with topics that I had no idea would appeal to me, but if it doesn’t grab me during the first visit I won’t be back.
  2. The layout and/or style is difficult to read.  With my aging eyes if a blog has white letters of small font on a black background, I cannot read it easily. I will not willingly struggle to read text and cause eye strain. Some people have a lot of busy stuff going on in their blogs, which may perfectly match their personality, but I probably won’t return if I have a hard time with the visuals.
  3. The text is filled with profanity.  I am not a prude and am not really offended by vulgar language, but if someone can only express themselves with vulgarity, I see it as either a reflection of their personality or of a limited vocabulary. I am not likely to respect them or what they have to say. That may be terribly un-cool, and it may indicate my age, but so be it. An occasional bad word is not an issue for me – sometimes a select word may best relay a message, but I see no purpose in repetitive cussing.
  4. The writing style is not straight forward. Sometimes the author seems to adopt an extremely intellectual approach. Or perhaps the author wanders around a topic without ever saying what is meant. These blogs come off to me as contrived and insincere. The message gets lost in phraseology and blather. I won’t work hard to get a message from a difficult read when so many blogs are written in an easy-to-read style.
  5. The text is filled with spelling errors and bad grammar.  I am not the grammar police. And I am not talking about a rare or occasional error. Heavens knows I make my share of mistakes. Almost every time that I look at one of my posts after publishing no matter how many times I have previewed and proof read, I see at least one error. I also am not bothered when it is clear that English is not the author’s first language. Posts written by non-native English speakers actually interest me because I like seeing how differences in their language’s form and structure affect the translation into English. Other than that when I see writing that is full of errors I have a hard time getting past those errors. I can’t get out my teacher’s red pencil and mark all the errors on the computer screen. The message gets distorted because all I see are the errors.
  6. The author lacks open-mindedness.  I have definite opinions as do most people. I find reading points of views other than my own to be very informative and educational. Sometimes I am annoyed or aggravated but hearing other points of view is part of growing. However, when an author takes a heavy-handed approach that their opinion is always correct and nothing else is even worthy of being considered, I lose interest. If the blog is extremely intolerant of other points of views I will not return.
  7. Blogs that are blatantly bigoted and prejudicial, racist, sexist, homophobic, etc. I will not honor those attitudes by visiting the blogs. Enough said.
  8. Blogs that are constantly and consistently negative. I have dealt with enough negativity and complaining in my life and in my career. At this point I choose to do everything in my power to separate from that. This doesn’t refer to people who are going through a rough patch in their lives or are having a bad day – I have an inordinate amount of empathy and compassion for those situations. But when all I read is what is wrong with everyone and everything else, and why issues are always someone else’s fault, and how life sucks, and there is no inkling of anything positive, I choose to not deal with it.
  9. Poetry blogs that are so esoteric that I cannot interpret the meaning. I hate to admit this one. I love poetry. I appreciate it a great deal. The imagery, the symbolism, the flow of words are things I find intriguing. But I am no longer in college literature classes where I had to interpret poetry. I now want to appreciate poetry without having to work at it. I apologize to poets who write in this style. I do hope they have a great audience. I just won’t be part of that audience.
  10. Blogs that I just don’t get. This is a catch-all item. Sometimes it’s humor that comes off as inside jokes, but I was never inside. Or a blog that I can’t figure out how to navigate. Or an author’s repeated habit of jumping into the middle of a topic assuming that everyone has the background to understand what is being discussed.  This may well be a portrayal of my own ignorance rather than any weakness on the part of the blog, but I prefer what I read to not constantly remind me of my own inadequacies.

It is probably a very good thing that I have finished with item 10 out of 10, because this post may sound incredibly negative, critical, uninteresting,close-minded and difficult, all things I hope to avoid.

I am sincerely interested: what are turn-offs for you as you visit different blogs? And do you find any of those turn-offs prevalent in my blog?

Trying to time manage my blogging, just another thread of my life.

24 thoughts on “Limiting the Blog Love – A Tuesday Top Ten List

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 6:50 am

      Thanks, Ms. or Mr. Anonymous, for taking the time to comment.

      Like

      • Tim Taylor April 15, 2015 / 8:21 am

        You’re quite welcome. I really enjoyed the read and it is pretty much to the point 🙂

        Like

  1. Lutheranliar April 14, 2015 / 8:24 am

    Thank you for your list. I’m new at blogging too (just since last summer), and am amazed at how much time can be spent writing one’s blog and reading others’ blogs. I decided after about the first very excited week to limit my own posts to once per week. Which isn’t too bad, since mine are more like weekly newspaper columns. (You can tell I went to Journalism School!) And I do try to at least click on each blog I’m subscribed to when it shows up in my email inbox. I figure that the least I can do is give them a ‘view’! But I admit that I don’t have time to read them all thoroughly, nor comment as much as I’d like. Sorry. I’m rambling. But your post got me to thinking. Which is one of the things I look for in the posts I do decide to read (!)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 6:55 am

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. I am still trying to figure out how much time to spend on blogging. I enjoy it so much but I have to develop the right balance. When I think of the blogs I follow I have a combination of those that do really get me to thinking, but also some that are just humorous or informational. Maybe I need to do a list of why I will follow a blog – the opposite of this one.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. 60while60 April 14, 2015 / 8:42 am

    Good list and I suspect not an easy post to publish. I would add a blog that has long long posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 6:58 am

      I agree that if a blog has only long posts I probably will not follow it. An occasional lengthy post wouldn’t automatically disqualify them. But along with that when a post is needlessly long I am not a fan. I mean those posts where basically everything is said in the first 600 words but then the author goes on and on. I might slog through the whole thing and ultimately realize there was nothing new after the opening paragraphs. A good addition to the list.

      It was difficult to publish. I struggled with whether or not to publish it, but ultimately I decided my honest opinion was worthy of mention and hopefully people won’t be offended. It does seem that a number of people agreed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. NotAPunkRocker April 14, 2015 / 9:10 am

    Blogs that are essentially infomercials for other bloggers or advertisers.

    Also, I am all for promoting the books by other bloggers, but sometimes it gets to be overkill too.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 7:00 am

      Those are both really good points that I didn’t think about on my list. I scoot out of the first category so quickly that it did not stay on my radar that I don’t usually like those.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. swimsonemile April 14, 2015 / 10:08 am

    I agree with all your criteria for not following a blog and the added ones by fellow commenters. Excessive profanity has always bothered me too. Just shows a person isn’t that creative.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 7:03 am

      Somewhere along the line many people think it is cool or proper to use profanity. I will admit that an occasional word of profanity may escape my lips. But reducing the language in writing puts some permanency to it that I would rather not memorialize.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 7:09 am

      I did not even think about those extremely long posts and I am glad that was mentioned. I will say that an occasional long post doesn’t bother me, but when all of the content is in long posts I am not likely to follow it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Helen C April 14, 2015 / 1:13 pm

    I like your list. I admit that if someone posts 5 or 6 times every day, I may stop following the blog. Too little time…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 7:10 am

      I had not thought of that. I actually do follow a few who post several times a day. I usually end up reading maybe one of their posts and skip the others. Like you said, too little time…

      Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 7:13 am

      Now that is one that I did not think of for my list. But I tend to agree. I don’t think I have come across many that ask for donations but that would be a turn-off for me.

      Like

  6. painkills2 April 15, 2015 / 4:24 am

    I’ve read that some bloggers follow, like, 200 people. I just don’t know how they find the time to do that, and to do it well. I can’t keep track of that many people, even if they only post once a day. If I follow someone, I’m interested in making friends, not acquaintances.

    I don’t follow many bloggers, but I set aside time every day to visit bloggers who have followed or liked something on my blog. But it can quickly become overwhelming, so I remind myself that it’s not something I HAVE to do. If my stats suffer because of it, that’s okay with me. And at least I don’t have to worry too much about unfollowing someone, because I don’t like to do that (but I have, once).

    For those that I do follow, it can take weeks or months for me to make that decision, as I have trust issues. But as I said in a recent post, I’ll always have the energy to support those who have supported me. And since there aren’t very many of those people, I’m able to find the time and the energy to do so.

    Blogging should be interesting, entertaining, therapeutic, and a learning experience. I don’t want to feel bad that I don’t like things like opera or poetry, even if those kinds of bloggers like something on my blog.

    Sorry so long. Hope this was helpful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 15, 2015 / 7:19 am

      This is a great, well-thought out response. I admit that I am in a trap where I am following way too many blogs. Many of them do not post often so when they do post they get more attention from me. I think your point of following them “well” is well-taken. I am not sure that I am a good follower and I probably should comment more, but even if it’s a blog where I generally think the posts are great, I won’t comment if any given post doesn’t resonate with me. You have given me a lot to think about.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Margo Blue April 23, 2015 / 11:35 am

    I know what you mean!! #2 is a big one for me! Even if it’s good content but the layout isn’t reader friendly I will not follow it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 23, 2015 / 9:11 pm

      That is big for me. I know layout is a personal preference and I suppose we all want our layout to reflect our personalities. But it seems we have to consider also what works for the reader. Thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Margo Blue April 23, 2015 / 9:13 pm

        Very true! We have to consider what works for the reader IF we want people to read what we write. Most organizations focus on making sure that their information is reader-friendly, from the colors to the layout.

        Like

Leave a Reply

