Easter Morning Musings

It is a beautiful Easter morning in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I woke up early to go Mass and celebrate the greatest of all events of Christianity: the day that Jesus was resurrected into heaven to atone for the sins of mankind.

There was a slight chill in the air but also the promise of a beautiful day.  As the congregation gathered there was a definite feeling of hope and peace and grace. The sun was just rising and it seemed to be peaking out from under clouds which soon dissipated. We were left with a beautiful sunshine filled day. image

image
Santa Maria de la Paz Santa Fe, New Mexico

In his homily, the priest drew an analogy using Jesus’s tomb that was found empty by his disciples on Easter morning. We should each look at the tomb within us, and tombs within society, and strive to empty them of negative things: violence, or love of material objects, or gossip, or disrespect. These negative things within each of us should be replaced with love.

The message of seeking love and happiness is oft-repeated outside of the Christian tradition as well as within it.  Much is written about filling ourselves with happiness and going forward with a renewed sense of goodness.  Easter represents new life Christianity, and it is no mistake that Easter coincides with spring which is also a celebration of new life. Whether people are of a Christian faith or not, these are important messages to be shared at this joyous spring and throughout the year.

I came home from church and set myself and my laptop outdoors on our deck for the first time this season. The front of my home is built into a hillside, so the deck on the back of the house is a full story above the ground.  Stairs lead down to the yard below but while sitting on the deck I have a beautiful second story view. I hear a chorus of birds singing. I watch them flit about inimage the trees. They check out our bird bath which is mounted on the deck, but I am sitting too close for them to feel safe.  They are having breakfast at the feeders that are hung in the trees.

I look at the trees which are greening more and more each day. At the immediate edge of my fenced lot line starts an open space. Just beyond the fence is an arroyo which is filled with rushing water after summer showers.  It is dry now, but a number of aspen, pinon and other trees and various other shrubs have grown up along the arroyo. During the winter months when the trees are bare traffic moving along the busy street on the far side of the open space is visible. But now as the leaves are forming on the trees our high deck begins to be screened from the road. During the summer months when the trees are thick with leaves, the distant street is completely blocked from view.

As I sit here composing my post, my yellow Lab comes out of the house to join me.  I reach out to pet her and my hand comes away covered with hair.  Labs shed all the time, but more so when the weather warms up and they lose their winter coats. It is that time of year when she will be brushed several times a day in attempts to get rid of the shedding hair.   As I write, she periodically bumps my elbow for a little bit of attention.

Life is good and I am content relishing in the newness of this Easter spring morning. But my lovely dog is expecting and deserving of a walk in that open space we are so grateful to have. It is time to attend to my loyal and faithful companion.

Happy Easter everyone.  May your day be filled with happiness, relaxation and love.

Easter morning musings, just another thread of my life.

7 thoughts on “Easter Morning Musings

    • Good Woman April 5, 2015 / 2:00 pm

      We are escaping the wind so far today so it continues to be beautiful. Thank you so much for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Atiya April 5, 2015 / 12:30 pm

    It’s sunny and breezy here near Washington DC! Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phyllis April 5, 2015 / 12:34 pm

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful inside-outside day with us. I love your hillside home!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fawn April 6, 2015 / 7:39 am

    Sounds like a lovely morning. Happy Easter to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good Woman April 7, 2015 / 8:26 pm

    Thank you. I hope your Easter was happy and that your week is going great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

