Hearts A Plenty – A Cross Stitch Project

imageToday I share a heart themed cross stitch that I made in 2011.  It is one of many pieces that I completed stitching, but never made into a project.  This one I intend to finish as a pillow. I love stitching and seeing a design emerge as it is translated on fabric.  When I put the last stitch in one project I always have a million ideas in my head for the next project I will do.  I also have several WIP’s (Works in Progress) that I could pick up.   I have a drawer full of projects that are completely stitched but that I have not framed or otherwise finished.  At one time I felt guilty about that, but then I think of all the people who write and never publish, or who paint and never display their paintings, or undertake some other creative process and enjoy the act of creating but don’t ever share their hard work with the masses.  The benefits of the actual creative process can be greater than the finished product.  I have plans for every piece that is finished.  And someday the plans will be implemented.image

In the Cross Stitch & Country Crafts magazine that published this design, the finished chart had been framed in a wooden tray with glass over it.  It was referred to as a tic-tac-toe board. Individual heart designs were also featured in a greeting card and on the top of a wooden box. Some individual hearts were stuffed and framed in lace and ribbon for decor pieces. Another option used a four heart section of the design to make a smaller pillow.

I have stitched for 30 years and have subscribed to many different cross stitch magazines during this time. I generally find my next project by searching through the magazines and charts that I have accumulated. Although I wish I could purchase more to support the struggling designers out there, I cannot justify it when I know that I already have just the designs I need.  The one chart that was a recent purchase was Dawn’s Break by Mystic Stitch featured in my post 93,100 Stitches of Love.

Project Details:  Medley of Hearts from Cross Stitch & Country Crafts, Jan/Feb 1991.  Stitched on rose 28 count even weave  over 2 with 2 strands of DMC floss.  Finished size 9 1/2 ” by 9″.  Design by Linda Gillum.

imageimageimage

10 thoughts on “Hearts A Plenty – A Cross Stitch Project

  1. jenniesisler February 14, 2015 / 7:00 pm

    That’s very pretty! I like the quilt-like look of it. There’s not a thing wrong with stitching just for the sake of stitching. It’s good to have a creative outlet with all the world’s stresses these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 14, 2015 / 7:14 pm

      I can’t begin to tell you how many of those world stresses I resolved in my mind while turning to my stitching outlet.

      Like

    • Good Woman February 15, 2015 / 1:36 pm

      Thank you. My family might dispute the “patient” comment, although I do think the therapeutic benefits of stitching has perhaps made me more patient.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. susieshy45 February 15, 2015 / 4:33 am

    Never mind, you have shared this beautiful piece of work with the online work and
    I think you can call it a project now .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 15, 2015 / 1:37 pm

      Thanks. That is a nice way to think of it. Just wait. I have countless others that I can say the same thing about!

      Like

  3. daphnecybele June 15, 2015 / 9:36 pm

    I’m happy that you are posting your projects, that you can show them and we can have the joy of seeing your careful and artful work. While you say the benefits of the actual creative process can be greater than the finished product, I think the finished product is amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 17, 2015 / 8:05 pm

      Thank you. I generally like the finished piece, but I don’t get it to where it is truly finished and ready to display. I appreciate your comment.

      Like

Leave a comment