Casual Friday 2/13/2015

I join Amie from the blog Amie Writes to celebrate Casual Fridays. As Amie explains:

Casual Fridays is going to be my (hopefully) weekly post and it is just that: casual. It is just a way for me to catch up from the week and chat about whatever is going on in my life. No daily posts, no fiction, no poetry, no structure or stress.  It will probably be pretty random and I’m okay with that.  I hope that you will join in too.  Chat me up in the comments or write your own post with a ping back to this post.  Here we go…

This is the week that was.

I celebrated another birthday.  At this age I would prefer that they not come around so quickly but I can’t control that.  It is ok with me if the day passes quietly.  However, people in my life have other ideas.  I got flowers, gifts, phone calls from family, a birthday cake, and many birthday messages on Facebook.  My birthday dinner was a shrimp and linguine stir fry that my sister makes for me every year.

My laptop crashed. The dreaded blue screen showed up uninvited.  It is in the shop.  It is old enough that it’s not worth putting a lot of money into it but the good news is that what needed to be done is covered by my maintenance plan.  I got a call late last night that it is ready to be picked up.

I made airline reservations for a weekend trip to Wisconsin later this month to help my brother and his wife celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary.  50 years!!  My husband and I only reached 20 years of marriage before he passed away.

The weather on Sunday was unseasonably warm for February in Santa Fe.  We had a high of 62°. We spent hours outside with the dogs. They were so happy!  And so were we.  By mid-week it was much colder and  we had rain which is always appreciated in this land of drought.

imageTomorrow is Valentine’s day which is not a big day for me.  When there were children in the house it was much more important.  I always am mindful of those people who have a hard time with this holiday.  It is a good time for random acts of kindness.

Much of my spare time has been consumed with blogging so there has been little time for cross stitch and crafty endeavors.  And I want to read more.  I am adding To Kill A Mockingbird to my re-read list.   I need to find a balance with my use of time.

And this week in the technology realm I made a couple of silly mistakes.  Last Saturday I decided to do this Casual Friday feature after seeing Amie’s. Early in the week I started working on it in draft form to get some ideas down.  Since half of the time I don’t know what I am doing, I accidentally published it rather than saving it in draft form.  As quick as a flash it received a like and a commentt before I could take it off-line.  I also accidentally re-blogged someone’s post.  I must have accidentally touched “re-blog” on my touch screen.  I didn’t know I had done it until I got a thank you from the blogger who I had re-blogged.  When I saw what was re-blogged I had to delete it because it would not have made sense to my readers with no context.  Oops!  I vow that technology will not defeat me forever; however, clumsiness might.

Casual Friday, just another thread in my life.

8 thoughts on “Casual Friday 2/13/2015

  1. susieshy45 February 9, 2015 / 10:56 am

    Great post. I enjoyed the casual Fridayness of it.

    Like

    • Good Woman February 9, 2015 / 10:59 am

      My mistake. It was not supposed to be published yet. I was just writing a rough draft.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. amiewrites74 February 13, 2015 / 2:55 pm

    Happy birthday! My birthday is coming up soon and I have mixed feelings about it. I’m glad your loved ones showered you with love 🙂 The dreaded blue screen is the worst! I’m glad that your laptop could be saved.

    I love what you said about Valentine’s day being a a good time for random acts of kindness. That is so true. I also try to be mindful of people who have a hard time around the holidays. I am always trying to think of good RAOK’s to do with my kids. This year we did valentines at the nursing home.

    Isn’t technology great?! I’ve hit wrong buttons before too, especially when I’m scrolling on the phone (touchscreens are so sensitive!).

    Like

  3. ShrutiInsights February 14, 2015 / 10:24 am

    Heyy..
    Random and hence real post!!
    We liked the draft so much.. I dont know how amazing final would have been
    Good job!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 14, 2015 / 3:36 pm

      Thanks so much for reading and for taking the time to comment. This version was the “final” as I pulled the draft off my blog early in the week, and revised it before I posted it again yesterday. But thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Donna February 14, 2015 / 9:11 pm

    It is nice to have casual days. Always interesting reading

    Like

Leave a Reply

