Pet Peeves – A Tuesday List of Ten

Some weeks ago in response to a challenge I posted the list Ten Things I Love and Ten Things I Hate. Today’s List of Ten is a list of my pet peeves. To me pet peeves and things I hate are not the same. Hate may be too strong of a word but to me hate implies a deep, enduring, intense aversion or loathing. They are likely the kind of thing that truly infuriate me sadden me to know that they even exist. They are likely to be things against which I take a strong stand.  Pet peeves on the other hand are extremely irritating and annoying but they are pesky things that you might react to but are not likely significant enough to make a huge issue.  They are more likely to be bad habits or behaviors of another person. You would prefer to not have to deal with them but they are more trivial in the grand scope of things. Pet peeves are more petty than things I hate.

I will admit my original list of things I hate does contain a few items that more properly belongs on my list of pet peeves. That is mosquitoes. They fit the criteria of a pet peeve because they are pesky and irritating but are not significant enough to raise to the “hate” level.

Without further ado, here are 10 pet peeves, other mosquitoes in my life.

image

  1. Failing to pick up after pets so the unpleasant deposits are left on sidewalks and paths and lawns..
  2. Depositing dirty diapers in a parking lot rather than looking for a trash receptacle. Admittedly, babies need to have diapers changed at the most importune times and people don’t want to keep a particularly pungent package in their vehicle, but it is just rude to drop it other than in a trash receptacle.
  3. Throwing chewing gum away on a sidewalk. How many times haven’t I stepped on chewing gum, especially on hot days when it sticks to your shoes and is next to impossible to get off?
  4. Poor manners when using cell phones including carrying on loud conversations in waiting rooms or while waiting on an airplane for take off; failing to mute the ringer in meetings or in church; answering the phone while you are the customer being served in a bank or at a check-out; among many other cellular crimes.
  5. The person in the office who complains incessantly about having too much work to do List of 10and not enough time to do it, but each day spends the first half hour moving from office to office just visiting while ignoring the fact that you are already hard at work.
  6. Paying for almost 200 television stations and not being able to find anything to watch.
  7. Hearing those people who have such a grand mastery of the English language that every other word that comes out of their mouth is the F-bomb.
  8. Parents allowing their children to run around without restrictions followed by the parents thinking it is so cute when the kids do something exceptionally annoying.
  9. Gum chewers who loudly chomp and snap their gum.
  10. Aggressive drivers who switch from lane to lane in busy traffic to get a little bit ahead, and then you end of being right next to them at a red light in spite of their antics.

I certainly could expand this list well beyond these 10 items but since it is a list of ten, I will refrain from doing that.

What are the mosquitoes in your life, those things that are particularly annoying to you?

9 thoughts on “Pet Peeves – A Tuesday List of Ten

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature August 4, 2015 / 8:41 am

    These are great! To add a few: Not using blinkers. Stopping at a light and not turning when there is a green arrow….and people who get mad at me when I do that very thing. The downward spiral of the quality of things. Packaging that you can’t get into, and you don’t have a knife or scissors handy. I could go on, but hey….I won’t. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 7:43 am

      These are great additions to a pet peeves list. There is not one item that I disagree with. It is probably good thing I was limited to ten because there could be so many other possibilities. Of course, I might end up doing a 2nd version to include others.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 August 4, 2015 / 9:52 am

    Terrible grammar in ads and news broadcasts is one of my biggest pet peeves!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 7:50 am

      I agree with you! I know I make my share of errors on my blog and I always beat myself up when one gets published unnoticed. Not that that is acceptable, but it is annoying when those types of things are broadcast to the masses.

      Liked by 1 person

      • salpal1 August 9, 2015 / 9:01 am

        You would think some of them never heard about adverbs and subject -verb agreement.
        I know what you mean about being correct in posts – I hate when I spot an error, and will usually edit to get rid of it. But some, I miss. Ugh, embarrassing. 🙂

        Like

  3. Mary-Anne at Breathing Life August 4, 2015 / 11:03 am

    number 6 totally and
    people who wait until all their groceries are bagged and the checker has told them what they owe before they get out their wallet and start searching for their credit card and/or cash. Really, people?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 7:54 am

      I agree with this too. And back when many people wrote checks they didn’t even get their checkbook out and start writing the check until after they knew the total amount! So glad that most people no longer use checks as a matter of routine for store purchases.

      Like

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature August 8, 2015 / 7:48 am

    Yeah, everybody probably could come up with many, hahaha. I guess it’s inevitable to get irritated with others’ behaviors. But some just seem so clueless. Ok, one more. When you want to turn left at an arrow, but there isn’t enough room to squeeze between the median and the car in front of you, who is sitting 3 car lengths behind the car in front of him. Grrrrr.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 7:58 am

      I will admit that after I was rear-ended in my brand new car, I am one of those people who leaves a lot of space between me and the car ahead of me. But if I became aware of someone trying to make that left turn I would move up so they could get into that lane.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

