The Retirement Decision

I think I am going to do it.

I think I will retire by the end of the year.

I originally started this blog when I was first contemplating taking this step. My blog description includes this information:

I am approaching retirement. I am trying to figure out what comes next…

In spite of having written that I really had not seriously taken serious steps in making the decision or in figuring anything out. One of my concerns had been finding meaningful activities to replace my career which I have put my heart and soul into for more than 20 years. That is how the blog originated. I now know that blogging is something that I enjoy and on which I could spend a lot of time if I end up feeling a void that needs to be filled.

I have been eligible to retire for a couple of years. However, my daughter would still be on my health insurance until she turned 26. Because our retirement health insurance is affordable for one person but very pricey for dependents I decided to keep working until she turned 26. That happened this past February.

My boss has been planning to retire before the end of this year. I had promised her that I would keep working at least until she retired. She recently announced that she would be retiring in October. That removed another one of the reasons I had for not yet retiring.

Even though I had said that I would stay until she retired I thought I would keep working until I became eligible for Social Security which is another 3 years. I thought I would not want to work again when I retire from this job. But my boss starting talking about getting a private sector job for a couple of years which related to the jobs we do in the public sector but that would offer some more financial security. The more she talked about doing that, the more that seemed like a viable option for me as well. I don’t know if I would actually go for another job  but I can consider it.

There are going to be more big changes in my job. It has long been recognized that my assigned duties are more than should realistically be handled by one person. There is a new director and a new assistant director of our organization. They are reorganized things. I think they have some really good ideas. It is one of those situations when it takes someone from the outside to analyze what the issues are. With the retirement of my boss who is the most experienced of anyone on staff, they feel this is a good time to implement other changes. Part of me finds that to be very exciting and I would love to see the direction in which they would move. Another part of me questions if I really want to deal with such a huge transition. Do I want to have to deal with a new supervisor and possibly different job duties? How easily at this stage of my life can I adapt to massive changes.

My bottom line thinking has always been that I want to be in the situation when I am not enjoying my job anymore I will be free to leave. I haven’t gotten there yet. I do find, however, that I do not deal as well as I once did with frustration brought on my outside issues. I still really love the work and the people I deal with on a regular basis but I am less patient in dealing with the problems.

All of these things made me realize now is the time for me to walk into retirement. I have put the wheels in motion. Today I got the official estimate of what my retirement benefits will be. That last tidbit of information which confirmed the fact that my finances will be ok convinces me that there is no reason to keep working. I am still a little nervous about it, but I sure think I am going to do it. I expect I will be out of the office by the end of the year.

I have never stated what my job is other than to say it is in the public sector. That is because the nature of my job is rather public and I don’t want to be known on this blog by the job that I do. Maybe when I am gone I will finally reveal the work that I have done these many years.

H

17 thoughts on “The Retirement Decision

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 8:04 am

      Thanks for the encouragement. Each day this week when I went to work the idea that it is time to retire kept being reinforced in my mind.

      Like

  1. luckyjc007 August 3, 2015 / 9:53 pm

    I thought about blogging several years ago, but realized I would not have enough time to put into it what I wanted to. I required a couple of years ago, but stay very active and

    Like

    • luckyjc007 August 3, 2015 / 10:01 pm

      Oops…it posted too quickly. Anyway, I finally got ( around to it ) ……words I often heard at work for years and years…..and I really enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 8:06 am

        I hope I will feel the same when that day gets here. There is that fear that I will lose an important part of my life but hopefully I should be ok.

        Like

  2. 60while60 August 3, 2015 / 9:57 pm

    Look at it as “moving on”. I for one felt out of place not going to work every morning. But that quickly passed. I think you won’t be sitting around much. Tie up loose ends before you leave and then enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 8:08 am

      Good point about getting those lose ends tied up. I have been relied on for many things over the years that there are some things that I do that noone else knows how to do. I am trying to write up some procedures but I still have to keep doing my job so there is not time to do much of that..

      Like

  3. bluecarpaintedgreen August 4, 2015 / 4:41 am

    This post was just what I needed today! It helps to know that other people experience similar thoughts, dreams, and uncertainties about change. I’ve been at the same job for 14 years, but have been contemplating next steps. Hmmm, so much to ponder. Good luck with your decision. And isn’t it funny; I never think of your day job at all. I only know you as the blogger you are!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 8:11 am

      I am one of those people who spends a lot of time thinking things through before I make a move because I get comfortable and worry that whatever the next option is won’t work out for me. However, I don’t think I have ever regretted the decisions I made in that way. And good luck to you in making a decision. It is not an easy thing. I have tried to keep my job separate from my blog, although I do find others’ posts about their respective jobs to be interesting.It’s like I get to know another facet of that person.

      Like

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature August 4, 2015 / 8:43 am

    Blessings on your decision, Helen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 8:12 am

      Thanks much. I am excited to see what the next chapter holds in store. Sometimes the end of the year seems so far away, but it’s already August when Christmas was just yesterday. The time will be here before I know it.

      Like

  5. rainydayreflections August 4, 2015 / 4:38 pm

    I look on retirement as phase 3 of life. Phase 1 was before I met my husband, Phase 2 was working and raising our family and phase 3 is whatever I want to do now. II retired about 5 years before I actually had planned; so to be truthful I didn’t have any plans. I did miss work and the kids I worked with the first few months. I still miss the kids! I’ve found lots to do with my time — photography, blogging, spending time with the grandsons, crafts and painting etc. I may or may not decide to get a part time job in the next year or so after we move into our new house. Good luck with your retirement prospects. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 8:14 am

      Thanks for telling your story. I can’t help but remembering that when I was young the people who talked about retiring seemed so old. Now that I am at that point I realize how wrong I was–I don’t think at 63 that I am old at all. I am a planner so I have lots of ideas about what I might do.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. fawn August 5, 2015 / 7:24 am

    Good luck with your decision! It is exciting to think about what’s next and to have options! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 8:16 am

      In a sense those options are the best part of this whole thing but it also makes it confusing. Thanks. My thoughts are in turmoil as I make decisions, including whether I will still work but at a different place.

      Like

  7. Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 8:16 am

    Thank you. I am excited that I got to this point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

