Country Geese Sampler – A Saturday Stitching Post

Historically, samplers were a demonstration or a test of skill in needlework. Girls raised in a genteel fashion were expected to develop skills in the needle arts. A sampler would be composed of alphabets, motifs, verses and decorative borders done in a variety of stitches. The name of the person who worked it as well as the date were often included.

Modern samplers come in a variety of designs and is a style preferred by many stitchers. I am very interested in samplers.  However, I have only worked one during my long term cross stitch addiction.

Today I am displaying the one sampler that I completed.  It is a piece that is one of my all time favorites done for myself, but it is no longer displayed in my home.

image

My previous home had a country theme. Geese were a common motif at one time in country homes. I really loved the way this piece turned out. Unfortunately, the theme was rather trendy and it did not stand the test of time.

I have a number of different sampler patterns that may be among the next projects I do. On the other hand, I always have a complete array of potential projects so I just don’t know which one will earn my attention next.

I am not sure what I will do with this piece. I would like to display it if I could find the right place. I may end up removing it from the frame and using the frame and mat for another piece. I have never run into this issue before because generally things I have worked stand the test of time. They are traditional and continue to fit into any decor. This is a lesson for me: when selecting a design consider whether it will a bear the test of time. There is a lot of effort and time put into each project that you want to make sure it will be appreciated for the long term.

The design itself was a free chart that came in a promotional advertisement from some cross stitch company, probably a magazine. I still have the chart which  has “© 1987, Cross Creek” printed on it. It was worked in 14 count Aida using 2 strands of DMC floss. Stitch count is 130 high by 112 wide. It was custom framed.

I am off to spend time stitching my current project. Hopefully I will soon be able to report on its completion.

5 thoughts on “Country Geese Sampler – A Saturday Stitching Post

  1. Mary-Anne at Breathing Life July 18, 2015 / 12:31 pm

    I made a sampler years ago that I am going to frame and give to my son for his house, and another I made when my daughter was born (26 years ago) that I will frame and give to her – framing is sooooo expensive though.
    I love your sampler – the geese and lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 9:39 am

      I agree about the cost of framing. Whenever I can I try to do the framing myself, but for really special pieces I want to have it professionally done. I can understand why it costs so much because it is a skill and they need a good eye for design. And then there are all the materials and the time involved. But I understand why many things cost a lot–but that doesn’t mean I’ll ever be able to afford them.

      Like

  2. pen2needle July 19, 2015 / 12:01 pm

    That’s a very good point about choosing timeless designs. After all the hard work that goes into a piece, it would be a shame if it can no longer be displayed. I hope you find a way to make use of this one somehow.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good Woman August 8, 2015 / 9:41 am

      Part of my issue is that I live in a different house and it does not have the same design style at all. I too hope I will find a place to fit it in. I have not run into this issue before or since where the particular design I chose did not stand the test of time. It’s especially sad because for this one I bore the cost of having it professionally framed.

      Like

  3. Carol July 21, 2015 / 3:17 pm

    I remember that magazine and that exact design! It seems like almost every chart contained a goose or a teddy bear way back in the ’80s! I have a few tucked away in drawers myself. That is one reason I’ve always loved Prairie Schooler designs–they really are timeless 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

