Progress on the Unfinished Project – A Saturday Stitching Post

imageMany craft people who I know have old projects that were started a long time ago but got pushed to the side in favor of other projects. My oldest such project is from 2002. In March of this year as the weather turned warm and I was thinking of spring, I remembered this design of two rabbits with a flower pot.  I brought my project out of hiding. On March 28, I published a post about the project named Hide and Seek – An Unfinished Object.

2015-04-04 13.29.53The project when I picked it up in April.

Back in 2002 I had messed up in counting stitches in the left hand center area of the design beneath the back of the bunny and above the edge of the flower pot. It was a complicated part of the design and I was having trouble finding my way to correcting the design. I needed a break from it so I set it aside in favor of other projects.

This spring I decided to resume my work on it and last updated my progress on April 18 in Saturday Spring Snow and A Stitching Post.I made up my mind that I would not start another project until I had finished this one. Progress has been slow. Because of the level of detail it required intense concentration. At times when I otherwise might be stitching that I just couldn’t face up to the level of detail involved. I ended up not stitching as often as I normally would have.

2015-04-18 09.05.45Progress as of April 18, 2015.

imageProgress as of June 26.

imageProgress as of July 4

With my stitching on July 4, the top half of the design was completed. That felt like a bit of a milestone.

image I adjusted the fabric on the scroll bars to allow work on the bottom portion of the design and continued my stitching .

image

A Close-up of Progress on July 10, 2015

Part of the thrill for a stitcher is watching the design evolve. The second bunny in the design is taking shape. After all the cross stitches are completed, top stitching will be added to define features of the design.

This weekend I hope to find much stitching time so that I can make significant progress. The next project is waiting in the wings but I have to stick to my resolution to finish this one before I start another one.

[Project Details: Hide and Seek from  For the Love of Cross Stitch, May 2001.  Design worked on 32 count antique white linen using 2 strands of DMC floss over 2 fabric threads.]

15 thoughts on “Progress on the Unfinished Project – A Saturday Stitching Post

  1. Faye July 11, 2015 / 9:40 am

    Just adorable! You will be so pleased with yourself for finishing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 11, 2015 / 9:45 am

      I always feel pleased when I complete a project but I think this one will have a special sense of accomplishment. Thanks.

      Like

  2. pen2needle July 11, 2015 / 11:51 am

    What a cute design! And you’ve really made some great progress on it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 25, 2015 / 12:35 pm

      Thanks. I too really like the design…and I finally finished it this morning. As a matter of fact I was so concentrated on stitching that I neglected my blog and failed to respond sooner.

      Like

      • pen2needle July 25, 2015 / 12:42 pm

        Congratulations on the finish! You must be so pleased. Looking forward to seeing the framed piece 🙂

        Like

        • Good Woman July 25, 2015 / 12:46 pm

          I have been collecting frames from garage sales and thrift shops for a while. I have to check to see if I have one that is appropriate. I am much better when I can do it myself than when I have to go to a store and stand there considering many different selections. The decision making can be so hard that sometimes it is better to have limited choices.

          Like

  3. Paardje July 11, 2015 / 9:40 pm

    It’s adorable! I hope you do finish it 🙂 And this post reminded me of my own unfinished cross-stitch project left back home. I hope to get it this December so I can finish it too. Sigh! Homesick! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 25, 2015 / 12:37 pm

      I got it finished and just posted the finished piece. I hope you can get your project and finish it. I understand being homesick. I lived away from my family for many years and although I am now used to it I still treasure the time we have together.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lutheranliar July 13, 2015 / 7:13 am

    I do this a lot myself; start thing, get distracted, put thing away, rediscover thing, finish thing (finally!) Recently was going thru stuff my now-24-year-old daughter had left behind when she grew up and moved out; found some unfinished knitting and needlepoint projects begun when she was about 7. Sigh

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 25, 2015 / 12:39 pm

      I have had several projects that have taken me a long time to complete, but I think this is the only one that took me 13 years. Fortunately, I still like the design so I was motivated to work on it. It would have been much worse if my tastes had changed completely and no longer liked it. And I finally finished it this morning! What a sense of accomplishment.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 25, 2015 / 12:42 pm

      Thanks. And it is now finished. Now I need to decide which project will next get my attention. I really love the part when I peruse my charts, make a decision, assemble the fabric and threads and then take those first stitches. So excited to be able to start the next one.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Waffu July 13, 2015 / 10:51 am

    This is the cutest little thing. The progression photos are simply fascinating. Keep on stitching!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 25, 2015 / 12:43 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement. Although I read your comment quite some time ago I did not respond because I was concentrating on stitching and neglecting my blog. I have now finished this project and I will surely keep on stitching. Cross stitch has been my passion for more than 30 years!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

