6 Months in the Blogging World

Wow.  I have been doing this blogging business for 6 whole months. When I created my first post and signed up for the WordPress Blogging 101 class I really didn’t know where this adventure would take me. At the time, part of my motivation was to learn what I could in order to help someone else figure out her blog. At this point she has not published anything on her blog for months while I seem to be completely smitten with the blogging process.

Here I am and loving almost every minute of it.

Where am I today compared to where I was at the 2 month mark as published in my post What a Ride Its Been – Two Months in the Blogosphere?

  • Number of followers: 267 (up from 158)
  • Number of views:  5,828 (up from 2,707)
  • Number of countries represented by people who have visited: 63 (up from 36)

I still haven’t figured out how to get the right balance between blogging and everything else in my life. The more time I spend blogging the less time I have for other favorite leisure time activities like reading and counted cross stitch. I want to do it all! I sound like a child. I look upon blogging as something I enjoy, but it causes me stress because I know I am not spending enough time reading other posts and commenting on them. I know that is necessary to keep building my blogging community. I feel like I have made good contacts and I want to read all they write, and comment and keep tabs on them and their lives. In one of my posts I asked how other people balance blogging with everything else.  I received a wise comment from GHAGEN 123 who has a blog named To Create Sunshine said:

In response to your struggle with blogging time, I struggle with that too. In fact I completely quit for a while for lack of time, but it’s drawing me back. I think it’s important to put technology away sometimes and actually live your life! The main thing for me is that blogging is a creative outlet that I want to explore. I’m also learning more about technology and I think those two things make it time worthy. I wouldn’t give up time spent with people to blog, but if you enjoy the creative outlet, then I think it can be worthwhile.

I am still working on that balance, but she gave me quite a bit to think about.

I continue with some regular features on my blog, but I am realizing if I miss posting one of those features I should not think it is the end of the world. Sometimes it becomes too much of a chore to work on some of the posts, and I need to let that go. If the useful life of a feature has passed then I need to let them go. I still do a Tuesday List of Ten, a Wednesday Words Crush Quote, a Throwback Thursday post, a Casual Friday post and a Saturday Stitching Post. I think it isn’t desirable to have so many structured posts that I limit myself in original, random posts on various topics.

I have been invited to accept some awards and to participate in some challenges. My intention is good when I say I intent to accept or participate, but then I don’t manage to find the time to participate. Again, I have to find that right balance.

I am considering paying the money for an upgrade. Every now and then I see a box that says people may see advertising here. I have signed out of WordPress and tried to see what kind of ads are posted, but I have never seen any. I don’t know if my visitors see ads or for what the ads might be. I am wondering if I should pay the money to avoid the ads. The upgrade would also give me a choice of fonts and theme colors which I think I might enjoy.

Beyond this, I have not resolved any other questions or issues I had four months ago, including that I am no closer to making a decision about retiring than I was when I started this blog. I still am not on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest or Twitter to publicize my blog. All of those seem to call for an investment of time which I do not have time. I am reaching a conclusion that I get more visits when I publish new posts in the morning before I go to work, but that is not really a scientific conclusion, just an observation.

I really want to thank everyone who reads my posts, whether or not you choose to follow me, and I always appreciate your comments and thoughts.

I look for further growth and development through my blogging experience, and who knows where all of this might end up?  Thank you, thank you, thank you if you are with me this far.

16 thoughts on “6 Months in the Blogging World

  1. ghagen123 July 7, 2015 / 8:28 pm

    Good luck to you! I think you should continue to blog as long as you enjoy it. Just remember it’s okay to step away from the keyboard to read that book on occasion!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 10, 2015 / 8:16 pm

      Thanks for your comment. I do so enjoy reading as well as several other past times. To have time to do it all!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Trudy July 7, 2015 / 8:48 pm

    Hi, I’m seven months in and yes it’s hard to schedule everything, but I don’t have structured posts like you. I agree with taking time off if you feel you need it. And it’s not necessary to be on every social networking site possible, just the ones that you already frequent. For instance, I use Twitter mainly on Thursdays because I watch Scandal and I join the chat then and my posts automatically generate on my Facebook page and Google page when I publish them (I use a plug-in for that) , so I’m not on them unless someone comments. I’m realizing that I gave to plan and schedule properly to fit things in. My posts are about my life away so it makes things a little easier. Good luck with everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 10, 2015 / 8:18 pm

      Thanks. I think I do need some luck. I have a personal Facebook page but do not have it linked to my blog because it has a different audience. I don’t even know how to use Twitter and I am not sure what the Google page can do for me so I have a lot to learn. Good luck to you as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Trudy July 10, 2015 / 8:48 pm

        Have you thought about retaking /taking blogging courses from WordPress? It makes the whole social media steps easier. You don’t have to add all social media, just what you’re comfortable with. I didn’t do it all at the same time, but progressively. Don’t overwhelm yourself.

        Like

        • Good Woman July 10, 2015 / 9:15 pm

          Thanks. I did take Blogging 101 in January and again in February. At the time I considered what the classes said about social media but I held off on those lessons thinking that I needed to take the time to absorb the suggestions. And of course time is at a premium so I just haven’t done any more about it. I think I might take the class again after I retire.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Trudy July 10, 2015 / 9:21 pm

            I just retook the course and will start blogging 201 in two weeks. I need to keep drilling these basic lessons into my head so they stick.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Good Woman July 11, 2015 / 8:52 am

              I am with you on needing to keep refreshing with the basics. I feel I need to wait to do it until I really have the time to dedicate to it.

              Liked by 1 person

  3. Sean Mungin July 7, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    I’m about 9 months into the blogging, and I’ve found that I have better results when I post between 4-8a…sharing on other social media is no waste of time if they’re linked to your blog…trust me on that

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 10, 2015 / 8:26 pm

      The early morning hours work for you as well. That does seem to be the best time. I have to confess that I know essentially nothing about the social media sites and how they work. I have heard of them of course but have not taken the time to really understand how to use them and how they might benefit. So part of the problem is just finding the time to learn about them first.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sean Mungin July 10, 2015 / 9:11 pm

        I think it’s all about finding what really works for you. I prefer the early morning, but sometimes it doesn’t work that way. I’ve had to learn to not feel guilty about it too! But I try to be as consistent as possible because the reading audience depends on us to be.

        Like

  4. suesconsideredtrifles July 8, 2015 / 1:07 am

    You are doing well. Approaching 3 years as a blogger, I’m still adjusting and trying to find balance. I agree that there is need for some flexibility in subject matter. Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 10, 2015 / 8:28 pm

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. Somehow it is satisfying to know that other people have the same struggles in trying to find a balance. I suppose it really is the story of my life. I will need to continue working on that balance.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Amanda G July 8, 2015 / 7:48 pm

    Congrats! Did you enjoy blogging 101 and find it helpful? I’ve been thinking about doing it or maybe just going through the lessons at my own pace…

    Like

  6. Good Woman July 10, 2015 / 8:31 pm

    I found Blogging 101 to be extremely helpful. Of course, I knew absolutely nothing when I started it so I had a lot to learn. The advantage of actually enrolling in the class is that they have the Commons where there is an opportunity to post questions and get clarification and get other people to comment on your blog. But there are no tests so you can work on the parts that are meaningful to you. I am so glad I took the class.

    Like

Leave a Reply

