Rest Is Not Idleness – A Wednesday Words Crush Quote

image

Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under trees on a summer’s day, listening to the murmur of the water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is by no means a waste of time.

John Lubbock

Many people of my generation grew up with an overly developed work ethic. We heard a lot about being productive and not wasting time.  Those ideas were indoctrinated into us.  Thus spending time just watching the clouds or the birds or trees can sometimes instill feelings of guilt because we are not being productive.  I have to embrace the philosophy in this quote. I need to learn to feel good about doing absolutely nothing.

John Lubbock (1834 – 1913) was a British banker, liberal politician, philanthropist and scientist.

On Wednesdays I participate in Words Crush Wednesday Favorite Quote Challenge hosted by Rebirth of Lisa. Check out the blog and join the fun.

10 thoughts on “Rest Is Not Idleness – A Wednesday Words Crush Quote

  1. susieshy45 July 1, 2015 / 7:11 am

    As they say- we need to take time to smell the roses.
    For me, it is – take time to read and learn from other bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:05 am

      I agree that for me reading and the blogging adventure are worthwhile and significant ways to spend time..But beyond that, I think this quote is saying it’s ok to do absolutely nothing. I rarely just sit quietly and soak in my surroundings without doing something, which is what I think this quote suggests doing.

      Like

  2. luckyjc007 July 1, 2015 / 11:56 am

    I agree. Spending time observing and enjoying nature is not ildleness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:05 am

      And it can be so relaxing and inspiring and rejuvenating!

      Like

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:09 am

      I think we probably were brought up the same way. Even when resting we had to be doing something productive, it was a break from hard physical or mental labor but we still had to do something. I have a hard time just watching a movie without doing something with my hands, like stitching. It drives my daughter crazy because the only time I just watch a movie is if we go to a theater, but I am too tight to spend that kind of money very often.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sean Mungin July 3, 2015 / 5:35 pm

    Yes…if we don’t learn to rest, we’ll miss out on life and it will pass us by

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:11 am

      I think I always took time to rest–in the sense that I would take a break from whatever work I was doing, but I would always replace it with something else–like reading or a hobby. To just rest and occupy myself with absolutely nothing is the challenge for me. But how else can I truly appreciate God’s great creation?

      Like

Leave a Reply

