My Favorite Past-Times. A Tuesday List of Ten

List of 10I have many interests. There is a variety of things that I like to do when I have time for myself. Since I am an introvert most of my preferred activities are solo activities or things to be done with a small group of people. You won’t find things on my list that involve crowds and constant interaction with others.  I also have the kind of job where I have frequent interaction with people at a rather fast pace. This is another reason why I prefer quiet activities when I have free time.

After my husband passed away, my high-school aged daughter told me that I had to get a life. She felt sorry for me staying at home when I wasn’t working, although I was quite content. Now that she also has embraced being an introvert she also appreciates the time when she can be home alone.

In this week’s version of my Tuesday List of Ten,  I share my ten favorite things to do when I am on my own time.

A List of Ten Things I Do In My Spare Time

  1. imageRead, read, read. I grew up with books and I always have a book that I am reading. My favorite genre is mystery, although I read a variety of fiction.
  2. Counted cross stitch. I have long enjoyed needle arts including sewing, knitting, crocheting and quilting. In recent years I have concentrated mostly on counted cross stitch although I am eager to get back into other things.
  3. Blogging. My newest love is blogging. When I started my blog in January it was an experiment to see if it is something that might interest me when I retire. Here I am, no closer to retiring but loving the blogging experience and the network that I am building.
  4. imageWork jigsaw puzzles. Every now and then I set everything else aside and work a jigsaw puzzle. No one else in my household enjoys them, so this is another activity I do by myself.
  5. Watch pro football. I grew up near Green Bay, Wisconsin. There are not many people who grew up there that are immune from being a Packer fanatic. Like many other sports fans, I live and die with my team during the football season.
  6. imageWatch college basketball and football. I am an alumnus of the University of Wisconsin so another one of seasonal passions is watching the UW football and basketball teams in season. I am a loyal follower of my alma mater.
  7. Doing word puzzles, especially cryptograms (and all the variations) and logic puzzles. To me there is something about stretching my mind in a different direction. I love solving these puzzles.
  8. imageTaking naps. What can I say? I consider having time for a nap to be a real luxury. There is nothing as refreshing
  9. Going for walks with my dogs. I am blessed to live in a neighborhood with quiet residential streets and a large open space. I love being able to take the dogs a walk. My yellow lab joins me for an early morning walk each day. The piebald dachshund sleeps in and if he’s lucky he’ll get a walk later..
  10. Playing board games and card games. I really enjoy board games and card games and this is the one favorite activity that involves other people.  My current favorites are Phase 10 and Mexican Train Dominoes, although I am willing to try many different games.

Now to find time for all the things I love to do. What are your favorite ways to spend your time when the time is all your own? Are you mainly interested in more social activities or do you prefer solitary activities?

18 thoughts on “My Favorite Past-Times. A Tuesday List of Ten

  1. The Chaos Realm June 30, 2015 / 7:44 am

    There might be a “board game” night/event at your local comic book store. Lots of new, fun games to try out. It’s fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 30, 2015 / 9:52 pm

      Now that is an idea that never would have occurred to me. We do get stuck in a rut playing the same games…but, oh, how we enjoy them.

      Like

  2. susieshy45 June 30, 2015 / 9:52 am

    I love reading blog posts written by other people. Please do visit my blog today, Helen !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:25 am

      I did visit and thank you very much. You have posted quite a bit lately and I missed so much of it.

      Like

  3. raphaela99 June 30, 2015 / 5:36 pm

    I love a mix of both. Reading is up there, as is being in nature. I do love sharing a meal with friends or seeing a movie as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:27 am

      You seem to be well-balanced. I also enjoying sharing a meal with friends whenever I do it, but when I think of how I prefer to spend my time that never hits the list. Perhaps that will change when I retire and no longer am immersed in people interaction all day, every day.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. luckyjc007 June 30, 2015 / 8:21 pm

    I love to line dance, go to a movie at the theatre or watch one on Netflix, spend time in the pool, read, get together with friends for a pot luck dinner and sit around and talk, horseback riding, drawing and, or painting, and sitting in the swing on the lanai and reading the newspaper or just listening to music.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:29 am

      You have a great variety in your list, both social and solo activities. Is line dancing still something that is done? When my husband was still alive I remember watching line dancing on television a lot, and I enjoyed watching it but I never learned how to do it.

      Like

      • luckyjc007 July 5, 2015 / 9:50 pm

        It is a big thing here. I live in a large retirement county and there are all levels of line dancing taught here by vounteers. Some have been teaching it for ten years. There are all kinds of music used and we seldom dance to the country music, which use to be the main type of music. I dance four days a week for 2 hrs each day. We learn a lot of dances and they keep changing. If this works…here is a copy of one we have on YouTube..(I’m in the pink outfit in the 2nd row)

        Like

        • Good Woman July 7, 2015 / 7:07 pm

          I enjoyed watching that–that is great exercise. Everyone is so coordinated…and no cowboy boots and hats! And what a great social activity.

          Like

  5. Ally B. Jones June 30, 2015 / 10:20 pm

    I miss jigsaw puzzles so much! I might have go find myself one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:32 am

      I recently completed several of them at home over a few weeks period of time. I find it to be a very relaxing activity and there is such a great variety to choose from. Sometimes I feel like I wasted precious time because when all is said and done I don’t have anything to show for it because I am not someone who saves them for display. I have to remind myself that the process of unwinding and relaxing with the puzzle is what’s important.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ginny July 2, 2015 / 7:02 am

    I too like my alone time. Cross stitching is my number one favorite thing to do. I also like scrapbooking, making cards, knitting, crocheting, reading and doing word searches. It’s been a very long time since I put together a puzzle. I think I may want to do that soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:34 am

      We seem to have similar preferred pastimes. I want to get back into crocheting and knitting which I have not done for a very long time. Sometimes I look at all of the beautiful yarns now available and I really want to do a project. I am thinking when I retire I will embrace those needlearts again..

      Liked by 1 person

  7. susieshy45 July 5, 2015 / 7:34 am

    You wrote about all the things you planned to work on yesterday. Normally my day is spent gazing at the computer. You inspired me to make the change and I did feel great after I did so.
    It is surprising how even casual words can inspire a total stranger.
    The other day, Daniel from dray0308 mentioned about TV addictions and I realised that I am one- for the week past I have not watched TV.
    So total strangers can become advisors and well-wishers.
    Helen, did you read my post about My blog friends ?
    Susie

    Like

    • Good Woman July 7, 2015 / 7:11 pm

      Glad to know how I inspired you, and by now you know that I? did read your post about blogging friends and I was very touched by it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

