Casual Friday – 6/25/201

imageOn Fridays I join Aimee of Aimee Writes for Casual Friday, a post with “no structure, no prompts, no rules, anything goes.” Check out her blog and join us in Casual Friday if you would like.

Another Friday has rolled around. I have had five productive days at work, but it was one of those weeks where when one problem was solved two more cropped up to replace it. I woke up during the night twice this week with a work issue on my mind. That has not happened to me for quite some time.

We had very hot weather this week. May and early June had been wonderfully cool so the high 90 degree temperatures over the weekend and Monday and Tuesday were hard to deal with. We had not planned well this year so we did not have our cooler hooked up yet. We suffered over the weekend but the plumber was able to come on Tuesday so our house was beautiful and cool by Tuesday night. We also had the plumber replace our kitchen sink so that was another project that we were able to scratch off our list.  Casual Friday Boots

I was so happy to hear about the Supreme Court health care ruling yesterday. I don’t want to get into a political discussion so it is somewhat risky to mention this, but I have always despaired over the health care issues in this country. I have been fortunate my whole adult life to have had health insurance provided by my employers. But so many people are just one illness or one injury away from complete financial disaster. The Affordable Health Care Act as passed is no where close to what it could have been and what it started out to be. It isn’t perfect but it is a move in the right direction. The plan offers fundamental security to many Americans.

I spent some leisure time this week with my favorite pastime, counted cross stitch. I continue to work on the old, recently revived project of two bunnies with a flower pot. I am determined to finish that project before I start something else. Since many of my stitching friends have several projects that they rotate, this is a real test of my perseverance. When I stitch I frequently have the television on. I happen to enjoy watching golf so the U.S. open last weekend gave me the perfect opportunity to stitch while I watched golf. Golf doesn’t have to occupy my full attention so for me stitching and golf is a perfect combination. When I spend a lot of time stitching, there is less time available for my other pastimes like reading and blogging. There just is not time to do it all.

My dog Chelsey and I have not missed our early morning mile walk for the last 8 days. It is a wonderful thing to get up for each morning. The temperature is in the 50’s when I start out and it is pleasant and relaxing to see the distant mountains as we walk along. I have been noticing that 14 year old Chelsey has slowed down considerably. She still gets very excited and bounces around when I get her leash. But our walk is at a slower pace than it once was. It used to be that when a bunny or a cat crossed our path I had a difficult time holding her back and getting her to obey commands. Now she doesn’t even notice them. She keeps her nose down sniffing the ground practically the whole mile that we walk. Today she stopped to sniff a spot near a fence. About two feet inside the fence sat a cat, staring at Chelsey. Chelsey did not even see the cat.

The NBA draft was last night. People who have followed me know that I am a huge college basketball fan and that in particular I follow my alma mater, the University of Wisconsin. I am proud that two Wisconsin players got drafted in the first round. Frank Kaminsky was picked number 9 and is going to the Charlotteville Hornets and Sam Dekker was picked number 18 and is going to the Houston Rockets. I am not a pro basketball fan but I might have to look in and see how their careers progress. Houston has been good for Wisconsin alumni with J.J. Watt, another Wisconsin man, being a star on the Houston Texan football team. Of course other colleges, such as Kentucky, had more players drafted in the first round but Wisconsin is not, and probably never will be a “one and done” university.

I hope everyone has an enjoyable and relaxing weekend.

11 thoughts on “Casual Friday – 6/25/201

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature June 26, 2015 / 8:30 pm

    So sad when we notice when our furry loved ones start slowing down. I’m sorry about Chelsey. Not a political discussion,, but I agree with you about health insurance. I hope you have an enjoyable and relaxing weekend too. We just had a beautiful thunder storm. Hope you get some rain.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 28, 2015 / 4:41 pm

      No rain on Saturday but I am hoping for some today. When a Lab gets to be 14 we have to expect that she will slow down but hope for vitality for a bit longer. She’s still beautiful, patient and loving.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature June 28, 2015 / 4:47 pm

      There is something so bittersweet about the slowing down process. Somehow, with my Rosie (14 1/2 yrs) even though I thought I treasured every moment with her throughout her life, it sort of forced the issue and the time became sacred through the last moment and beyond…still. The gratitude held me together through her leaving.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 28, 2015 / 4:43 pm

      It is sad to see but she is still content and doesn’t seem to know the dofference. I think it is harder for her people than it is for her.

      Liked by 1 person

      • susieshy45 June 28, 2015 / 5:57 pm

        Yes we humans suffer more when we see our friends suffer because God has put in thoughts of attachment, sorrow, and all other emotions into human beings and we feel the pain Our furry friends may just be living from day to day, with no thought for the next day.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Chaos Realm June 27, 2015 / 8:45 am

    I still can’t afford health insurance, so they gave me an exemption for my taxes. I was like, “But I still don’t have health insurance?” They were like “Apply for Medicaid”. I was denied.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 28, 2015 / 4:48 pm

      I an sympathetic to your situation. I know the Affordable Health Care Act is not perfect. I just wish people could get past trying to overturn it, accept that it’s staying around, and then concentrate on fixing the problems with it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ginny June 29, 2015 / 7:41 am

    It is sad to hear that your puppy is not noticing things and is slowing down. I guess it eventually happens to all of us. Maybe it’s just his time to just enjoy the walk with you and let everything else go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman July 5, 2015 / 7:02 am

      She still gets so excited for the walk each morning. I got up too late on Friday to fit it in and I felt guilty all day. I had to make sure I took her for a shorter walk after it cooled down in the evening.

      Like

Leave a Reply

