Casual Friday – 6/19/15

imageOn Fridays I join Aimee of Aimee Writes for Casual Friday, a post with “no structure, no prompts, no rules, anything goes.” Check out her blog here and join us in Casual Friday if you would like.Casual Friday Boots

I came home from work last Friday not feeling well, and iended up with a bad cold. Most of last weekend I spent in bed and still was wiped out on Monday so I had to take a rare sick day. After another day with a lot of sleep I felt better so I went back to work on Tuesday. I was still pretty drained on Tuesday and Wednesday although I managed to have productive days at work. I finally felt up to resuming my morning walks on Thursday morning. That makes for one happy yellow Labrador retriever, Chelsey, whose home and walks I share.

imageIn part of the loop we make on our walks, we pass the backyard fences of several blocks of homes. The homeowners have planted various vines to screen their fences. I see all kinds of interesting foliage. Among the vines that I can identify are grape vines, silver lace and even holly. While Chelsey sniffs every inch of ground that we cover, I take in the plantings that abound. Silver lace is a favorite of mine because it grew successfully over the backyard fence in my previous home, but I do not yet have it in my current back yard.

Last week I reported that I was 300 pages into reading a book and it had really started to drag. Fortunately, after about 30 lagging pages the story picked up again and the book got quite interesting. I made it through the book quite handily, but to me it had a very unsatisfying ending.  The book was recommended to me by a friend, but it had very mixed reviews. People either loved it or hated it. It was The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski. It centers around a family that raises dogs and since I am a dog lover that appealed to me, but it is not a book I personally would recommend.

One thing about being sick is that during my waking hours, I was able to get a lot of reading done. I finished that book and then read a Jonathan Kellerman murder mystery which was a quick read. I am one of those people who have an abundance of books that I have not read. I have declared a moratorium on buying more books, but since my family is filled with voracious readers I am constantly given books that they have finished. Mind you, I am not complaining, but the number of books I still have to read never seems to be reduced. However, it does provide a very nice selection from which to pick my next book.

I am still working to balance my blogging with other things in my life. I really enjoy blogging and visiting other blogs. But with also many other things that I enjoy doing in my free time it has been very difficult to find the right balance. I originally started to blog to discover if it is something that I want to pursue in my retirement. The answer to that is affirmative. But since I’ve started now…and have no firm retirement date in mind…it tends to be a bit of a struggle to give enough time to my blog. I need any kind words of advice that I can get as to how others fit blogging into their lives.

Have a great weekend, and take a moment to enjoy the beauty in the simplest things.

4 thoughts on “Casual Friday – 6/19/15

  1. ghagen123 June 19, 2015 / 8:03 am

    Love Your garden photos! In response to your struggle with blogging time, I struggle with that too. In fact I completely quit for awhile for lack of time, but it’s drawing me back. I think it’s important to put technology away sometimes and actually live your life! The main thing for me is that blogging is a creative outlet that I want to explore. I’m also learning more about technology and I think those two things make it time worthy. I wouldn’t give up time spent with people to blog, but if you enjoy the creative outlet, then I think it can be worthwhile.
    This is getting more wordy than expected! Good luck to you and hope this helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 22, 2015 / 8:13 pm

      This is really good advice. I do need to put technology away at times to lead my life. I do these regular feature blogs and I feel an obligation to post them–I have to let go of the need to think I have to post something in each of them every week.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ginny June 21, 2015 / 9:05 am

    Sorry to hear that you were not feeling well. Glad you are better and are back taking your walks. Beautiful flowers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

