1970 – High School Graduation Year – Throwback Thursday

1970 2

Since my high school graduation 45th anniversary occurred in May, I thought it would be interesting to research and write about what was going on in the world in 1970, the year I graduated.

The most obvious newsworthy, noteworthy event in 1970 was that the Vietnam War was raging. Friends that I had in the class ahead of me were drafted into the military and were sent to Vietnam. One of them lost his life. The U.S. invaded Cambodia with the goal of hunting out Viet Cong. Troops started being withdrawn from Vietnam this year. In November, there was a week when there were no U.S. casualties, the first such week in 5 years.

Widespread, large anti-war protests were commonplace on U.S. college campuses and elsewhere, including a protest of 100,000 people in Washington D.C. At Kent State University in Ohio 4 protesters were killed when fired on by the National Guard. Draft dodgers frequently relocated to Canada.

Richard Nixon was the President of the United States. Leonid Brezhnev was the First Secretary of the Soviet Union. The Prime Minister of the United Kingdom was Harold Wilson for the first part of the year, followed by Edward Heath.

The Beatles disbanded this year. Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin died from overdoses. Simon and Garfunkel released their final album Bridge Over Troubled Water.  Elton John made his first appearance in the U.S.   Aerosmith was formed.  The American Top 40 countdown debuted with Casey Kasem as host. Garry Trudeau’s comic strip Doonsesbury was introduced. M*A*S*H, Catch-22 and Hello Dolly were popular films. All My Children was televised for the first time on ABC.

In the United States in 1970, the average income per year was $9,400.00. A gallon of gas cost 36 cents. A postage stamp cost 6 cents. The average cost of a new house was $23,450.00.

The Ford Pinto was produced for the first time. The Gremlin and the Chevrolet Vega were also introduced. The first dot matrix printer was introduced on the market.

The first Earth Day was observed. The United States Environmental Protection Agencywas established.

The Concord made its first supersonic flight.

The quote “Houston, we’ve got a problem” was born when the Apollo 13 mission to the moon had to be abandoned when oxygen tanks exploded. There was a successful splashdown and all crew members survived.

The U.S. lowered the voting age from 21 to 18.  I remember some of the controversy. A common argument was that 19 year olds were fighting in Vietnam but they were not allowed to vote.

A bill banning cigarette advertising on television beginning 1/1/1971 was enacted.

The North Tower of the World Trade Center was topped out at 1,368 feet making it the tallest building in the world.

Among people born in 1970 are Tina Fey, Kelly Ripa, Queen Latifah, Phil Mickelson , Matt Damon and Naomi Campbell.

These were some of the highlights (or lowlights) from 1970 – a very important year in Good Woman’s life.

Sources:.thepeoplehistory.com; historyorb.com; wikipedia.org

13 thoughts on “1970 – High School Graduation Year – Throwback Thursday

  1. Aunt Beulah June 11, 2015 / 9:14 am

    Though I am older than you — I graduated from high school in 1961 — I feel like you wrote about my life in this post. I remember everything you mention quite vividly, particularly listening over and over to Bridge Over Troubled Water, not knowing it would be their last album. Thanks for stirring up mainly happy memories for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 11, 2015 / 7:34 pm

      I always loved Simon and Garfunkel. I think Sounds of Silence is still my all time favorite song. I am glad I could bring happy memories to your mind, although I sense that like me, there is also a bit of sadness–for me its because of the loss of life in the war.

      Like

  2. susieshy45 June 11, 2015 / 11:05 am

    And me- I was a year old then but thorough your post, Helen, I managed to see things as they occurred during that year.
    Thanks again !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 11, 2015 / 7:36 pm

      Thanks Susie. Just a year old when I graduated from high school! It’s all relative when it comes to time. I can’t believe that it has been 45 years since I graduated.

      Liked by 1 person

      • susieshy45 June 11, 2015 / 7:42 pm

        I wouldn’t have known it until I read your post because when a lay person reads your post, he/she thinks he/she is reading a post from someone young- so much of positivity radiates from your posts.
        Is it hot yet there ?

        Like

        • Good Woman June 17, 2015 / 8:42 pm

          That is a very nice thing to say. I make a conscious effort to be positive. I think I spent enough of my life complaining and being negative. Time to appreciate the good things. We have had very mild weather. Some days in the 80’s but it has been quite comfortable.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature June 11, 2015 / 4:30 pm

    I graduated in 1971, so everything you talked about is so familiar. I didn’t remember that the Beatles disbanded before I graduated. We protested the war…as a school. I really felt strongly about it, and it was nice that we all felt the same way. It was a good year in a lot of ways. Wow, the pinto, gremlin and vega. Hahaha. Gremlins looked like high top sneakers to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 11, 2015 / 7:42 pm

      I also didn’t remember the Beatles disbanding and I was a little surprised when I read that. The town I lived in was pretty conservative and what I knew about the protests I saw on the news. That is until the fall when I left for college. There were a few of us pacifists. I remember my junior year history teacher arguing adamantly with me about what was right about the war. I had a crush on him until I realized his point of view.

      I kind of chuckled over the cars myself, over the next several years I knew people who owned each one of those, definitely second hand and probably because they were cheap for college students. I remember my roommate’s boyfriend had a light purple Gremlin. Those were the days.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature June 11, 2015 / 7:58 pm

    Yeah, I got over a lot of crushes that way. Haha. Yes, indeed. Those were the days.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. beerdrinker only June 11, 2015 / 8:49 pm

    1970 was also the year I graduated. Some of those events you mentioned are forever etched in my memory. It was a very good year.

    Like

    • Good Woman June 17, 2015 / 8:40 pm

      It was a good year. I can’t say I remembered everything when I started my research but a lot came back to me with reminders.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. masgautsen June 12, 2015 / 4:02 am

    This is a very interesting post! I loved reading about 1970. Hope there will be more posts like this in the future 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman June 17, 2015 / 8:39 pm

      Thanks. I will have to consider other eventful years in my life and decide if I will take on another year.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

