Casual Friday – 5/22/15

Casual Friday Boots

On Fridays I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.” Check out her blog, and join us in observing Casual Friday if you would like.

Today was anything but a casual Friday. With a quickly approaching major work deadline, I had to be to work for a 7 AM meeting to start off a busy day that has not slowed down one bit.  I will work much of this weekend–although I will be sure to have Monday off–and will also be working through the following weekend. Then I will barely catch my breath before another huge deadline July 1.

My daughter was home for about a week and left on Wednesday. We had a wonderful visit. We had to do some shoe shopping which ended up being not as much of an ordeal as I had feared. We went to a couple of different stores but neither of us was interested in making it a marathon so we managed to make very efficient use of our time. One of her high school friends came for dinner Saturday evening. I was reminded of how our home was always a base for her friends when she was in high school. We loved having her friends come over, partly because they were a great group of kids and partly because we knew what she was up to.

I also managed to get a fair amount of reading done. My daughter loves to read and like me she does not find enough time for it in her normal non-vacationing life, so she enjoys catching up on reading. Our quiet time together was spent reading. We also played Mexican Train dominoes and Phase Ten, our two current favorite games. I mentioned to her that we never really seem to do anything special when she is home but she told me that is fine. Both of our lives are so hectic that we are very happy just being at home. We did have to go out for dinner one night so that she could have her real New Mexican green chili fix. She is the only fan of New Mexican cuisine in our home. She can’t get authentic New Mexican food elsewhere, so we have to go out one time so she can satisfy her food passion.

The weather has been cool and rainy for much of the week. I do not get tired of the rain because as my regular readers know we have been in a serious drought. We had a particularly bad thunderstorm one night but fortunately there was no damage here.

45 years ago tonight I graduated from high school. I can remember the occasion as if it was yesterday. As many people of my age and generation know, although we say it over and over again, it is absolutely incredible how quickly time passes. I would not want to relive the years that have passed, especially my 20’s  and 30’s, but it is amazing that I am here at 60 plus feeling like there is so much of life left to live, and that so many years cannot possibly have passed.

I may of necessity continue to be relatively quiet on my blog until things settle down at work. Here’s hoping that all of you can have an enjoyable and relaxing weekend, doing the things you love the most.

7 thoughts on “Casual Friday – 5/22/15

  1. Mary-Anne at Breathing Life May 22, 2015 / 9:09 pm

    my daughter is coming home on Sunday and I cannot wait – I love those simple things like doing errands together, or watching a movie, or just talking over cups of tea.
    Lovely post – and I hope your life gets less hectic soon.

    Like

  2. susieshy45 May 23, 2015 / 12:26 am

    Oh Helen, how nice to hear from you after so long. Happy to hear everything is going on well, your end. I look forward to reading more after the July 1 deadline. From what you’ve written I feel you might be a research administrator, what with all the deadlines on the horizon.

    Like

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature May 23, 2015 / 12:58 pm

    Happy High School Reunion!

    Like

  4. Ginny May 25, 2015 / 8:06 am

    Sometimes it is nice to just have quiet time even with others. Glad you enjoyed your visit with your daughter. Time really does fly by, doesn’t it. I can’t believe that I have been out of school about 33 years myself and now both of my sons have graduated. It just doesn’t seem possible. I now try to enjoy each and every day in the hopes it will slow down one of these days 😉

    Like

  5. garym6059 May 26, 2015 / 6:44 am

    I love New Mexican cuisine, sounds like you two had a good low key kind of visit. Happy reunion to you also.

    Like

  6. amiewrites74 May 26, 2015 / 8:42 am

    Low key visits are sometimes the best visits. Glad you got to enjoy some time with your daughter. I hope work doesn’t get too hectic and you were able to get some rest over the holiday weekend.

    Like

  7. Ally B. Jones May 28, 2015 / 8:19 pm

    I am currently drowning in school work and I thoroughly enjoyed living my life through your for a little bit. I can’t wait till this semester is over! Thanks for relaxing break.

    Like

Leave a Reply

