Antique Violet Monochrome – A Saturday Stitching Post

Counted cross stitch projects can be as detailed or as elaborate as a stitcher or a designer wants to make them. I have done projects that have taken months of constant stitching with a hundred different colors. I have done others that have taken just a few evenings and used only one thread color.

Today I feature three small stitched pieces all with one color of floss that I stitched to make into pillows. I specifically sought out designs that could be worked in a single color as I was trying to match the comforter and the color scheme in a bedroom. The color I chose was DMC 3740 “Dark Antique Violet” which matched some fabric I had on hand that I was going to use for the pillows.

imageThe Monogram – Letter M

Source: Stoney Creek Cross Stitch Collection (magazine), December 2010.

imageColonial House

Source: Just Cross Stitch Christmas Ornaments 2010. Designed by Gloria Moore of Milady’s Needle. 

image“Blackwork” Design

Source: Cross Stitch & Needlework, January 2011. Designed by Elizabeth Almond.

The stitching went relatively quickly. I had more problems with sewing the pillows because although the fabric was a good color choice, it was difficult to work with. It was stretchier than I realized. Insetting the non-stretchy stitched pieces into fabric that had a lot of give was a challenge. I ended up without good examples of my sewing prowess, but the cross-stitched portions were lovely.

All projects were worked on 28 count Lugana even weave fabric over 2 threads with DMC 3740 embroidery floss.

12 thoughts on “Antique Violet Monochrome – A Saturday Stitching Post

    • Good Woman May 9, 2015 / 11:27 am

      I think that’s a good thing. I have stuck with this rather traditional hobby because I find it to be very relaxing and rewarding. It is not as popular as it once was but I am hoping for a resurgence.

      Like

    • Good Woman May 12, 2015 / 8:16 pm

      I had a feeling that your preference would be the blackwork. I really like how it looks and I very much enjoyed doing it. It makes me wonder why I haven’t done more blackwork in my life.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ginny May 11, 2015 / 6:43 am

    Your pillows turned out lovely! I love the one color designs you chose. I don’t think I have stitched in one color before. I may have to try that one day. It is quite elegant.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman May 12, 2015 / 8:18 pm

      With all the beautiful colors and fibers available, it is rather hard to limit projects to just one color. But I was pleased with the stitching, although if you noticed I tried to not to show a lot of the complete pillows. They were not my greatest ever sewing project.

      Like

  2. jenniesisler May 12, 2015 / 8:59 pm

    I love the intricacies of the blackwork. THe mauve tone is perfect for each of these pieces

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman May 16, 2015 / 9:06 am

      Thanks. I have been interested in doing black work but this is the only project I ever did. I do need to do more of it and somehow work it in with everything else I want to do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

