Casual Friday – 5/8/15

Casual Friday Boots

On Fridays I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.” Check out her blog, and join us in observing Casual Friday if you would like.

The weeks fly by and I am faced with writing another Casual Friday post. This is not exactly a challenge. In some ways I like Casual Friday more than any other post I do because it is random and I can include whatever topics I would like.

We had wonderful rainy weather several days this week. I have mentioned that we have had a long term drought in New Mexico. This has made me really appreciate rain when we get it. I heard the first complaint this week when someone said they were tired of the rainy weather. I want to say, “Hush your mouth!” It has been quite cool this week. Many years we have to have our evaporative cooler hooked up in April. This year we have not had any days so far when the cooler might have been used. I much prefer cooler weather to the summer heat so I am fine with the current temperatures.

imageI like tracking the progress of the different plants we have in the garden. This week the evening primrose started blooming. This is one plant that we have had very good luck with in the several various places we have lived in New Mexico. The lavender is starting to show a little color.

I have huge plans for the weekend. I need to clean out and reorganize my closet! That is a chore for me. I will try to follow the rule that if I haven’t worn something for a year I need to get rid of it. I seem to have trouble doing that. I think it is a connection to my childhood when I never had very many clothes. It seems that I have spent my whole life compensating. I have vowed to not buy any more “career” clothes because being close to retirement I have plenty to get me through (even though I don’t know when I will retire.) I am reading so much about the minimalist approach and getting rid of clutter. It sounds like a great idea in theory. I will have to see if I can make any moves in that direction this weekend.

It is Mother’s Day weekend and I hope all the mothers as well as women who play roles as mothers have a great weekend and are appreciated for all they do. My daughter will be home for a week later on in the week so any of my celebrating will wait until later. I think back to my own mother who worked hard for her family in raising eight children. As happens in many mother – child relationships, we did have a tumultuous times during my teenage years. Once I became an adult, our relationship mended and we got along very well at the time of her death in 1991. I am so grateful for that as I remember her with great love and respect.

Here’s hoping that everyone has a beautiful and happy spring weekend.

8 thoughts on “Casual Friday – 5/8/15

  1. garym6059 May 8, 2015 / 7:42 am

    Good luck on closet cleaning, always sounds like a good plan on paper until I start doing it. Hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman May 9, 2015 / 11:31 am

      I think I need luck on that cleaning. It’s almost noon here and I have not yet started the project. However, I published a post, did the nasty task of picking up after the dogs in the back yard, am responding to comments, made a call to my automobile repair shop, etc., etc. I think I am procrastinating.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. amiewrites74 May 8, 2015 / 7:47 am

    The evening primrose is beautiful! Good luck with the closets. That is a task that I need to tackle as well. Happy Mother’s Day! I am glad that your daughter will be home soon to celebrate with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman May 9, 2015 / 11:33 am

      Thanks and happy mother’s day to you. Part of the reason I need to clean my closets now is because the last time she was home (last September) she went into my closet to get something and made some comment about she now understood why I always nagged her about keeping her closet organized. Eight months later I need to do something about mine..

      Liked by 1 person

      • amiewrites74 May 9, 2015 / 11:45 am

        Ha ha. Guess it’s time to organize then. I always procrastinate with the closets.

        Like

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature May 8, 2015 / 12:55 pm

    I know what you mean about people who say they are tired of the rain. I think,” are you freaking kidding me with this?” Or they will have enough awareness to say, ” I know we need the moisture, but…..”
    I am so grateful for the rain we have been having. Our creek as actually roaring, while it is usually beginning to dry up by now.
    Good luck with your closets!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman May 9, 2015 / 11:35 am

      That is great that your creek is high. There was not a lot of snow to have much mountain runoff but the rain has sure been a blessing. Everything around here is looking exceptionally green. And I do need the luck with the closet. I better start the attack now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

