Hummingbird in the Snow

On Saturday I posted pictures of our first hummingbird of the season.

052

image

Rain was forecast for Sunday. The rain began in the morning.  It soon turned to snow.  Within minutes there was a layer of snow covering everything including the hummingbird feeder.

image

The hummingbird came swooping around the feeder shortly after the picture of the feeder was taken. We removed the snow from the feeder and the hummingbird soon came back.

062

I took my first ever picture of a hummingbird in the snow.  We also saw a second hummingbird who we believe was the female. She made a brief visit but we did not see her again. The snow melted by noon.

Have I said that I love hummingbirds? Just another thread of my life.

13 thoughts on “Hummingbird in the Snow

  1. salpal1 April 27, 2015 / 7:30 am

    I’d better get my feeders out! I wonder how the little things can possibly stay warm in this cold spring?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 28, 2015 / 8:41 pm

      Fortunately although it snowed here it wasn’t exceptionally cold. I worry about the cold temperatures too but I hope they are cozy in their little nests.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Breathing Life April 27, 2015 / 10:02 am

    another way we seem connected. I have a feeder too and they come year round. I have a tattoo of a hummingbird on my right shoulder. I feel like it is my totem. Wonderful pictures, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 28, 2015 / 8:43 pm

      I don’t have them year around but we get very excited when they first appear. We watch them a lot. I don’t have tattoos but my daughter got a small one of a hummingbird because it reminds her of me. I was touched. I am very happy with how the pictures turned out because I don’t think of myself as much of a photographer, partly because I don’t have the required patience. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  3. shelie27 April 27, 2015 / 12:56 pm

    Great pictures and post, I share your feelings about hummingbirds as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 28, 2015 / 8:44 pm

      I think of them as the most amazing creatures–so tiny but “engineered” so perfectly.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature April 27, 2015 / 2:28 pm

    Very sweet! We finally got some rain and snow. This morning during the snow, I saw a mama duck and 10 ducklings! In the snow. I hope they will be ok.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 28, 2015 / 8:46 pm

      Glad to hear you got some precipitation. We have been doing amazingly well–.6/10th’s of an inch just on Sunday. You must have been thrilled to see the mom and her 10 ducklings but I understand how you would be concerned of how well they will do.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. bluecarpaintedgreen April 27, 2015 / 9:36 pm

    We’ve been having such fun watching the birds in our yard now that it’s spring. I love these shots of the hummingbird in the snow!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 28, 2015 / 8:48 pm

      I really enjoy the birds too, but the hummingbirds are the ones I am most amazed with. (See I end my sentence with a preposition). I was really tickled that the hummingbird in the snow turned out the way it did.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 28, 2015 / 8:48 pm

      Thanks Bethie. I feel like the photo fairy was sitting on my shoulder helping me out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

