Casual Friday 4/24/15

Casual Friday BootsOn Fridays I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.” Check out her blog, and join us in observing Casual Friday if you would like to.

Another week is in the books.

We woke up on Saturday morning to a beautiful blanket of snow covering the trees and ground. The snow was gone by noon but it was a reminder to not ever take Mother Nature for granted. This was followed by a few days of cool weather. Yesterday was an absolutely beautiful, sun-shine filled today. Today we have rain in New Mexico, always a welcome sight.

The oft used line that if you don’t like the weather, stick around for a minute (or 15 minutes) is attributed to Mark Twain. It is said that it applied to New England weather but I have heard it used in reference to many different U.S. states. It certainly seems to apply to New Mexico.

Work continues to be hectic and harried, but at the end of the day I am able to walk away and put it out of my mind. It took me most of my career to learn how to do it, but I now seem to be successful with it.

We saw the first hummingbird of the season at our feeder on Monday. It was the black-chinned variety. We are absolutely smitten with watching those hummingbirds. We have a window-mounted feeder and we can sit in our living room and watch the birds come and go. That is  cheap entertainment.

My sister who lives with me does all of the food preparation. I had a friend from out-of-town spend the night with us on Wednesday. We had a wonderful tortellini and vegetable main dish that had zucchini, mushrooms and artichoke hearts.  My sister also made a home-made apple pie. I get to enjoy some fine eating. This friend absolutely loves coming to visit especially for the great food.

Generally something is left over for me to take for my lunch the next day. My co-workers are  accustomed to seeing the legendary food that my sister makes.  When I actually make something on my own no one believes that it is my own work. I do know how to cook but I feel privileged that I don’t have to do it all the time. One day this week there was nothing left over at home.  I grabbed a frozen dinner to pop in the microwave at work. My co-workers did not even feel sorry for me that I was reduced to eating a frozen dinner when that is what most of them bring for lunch every day. I didn’t get any sympathy.

Interesting weather, hard work and good eating, just more threads of my life.

9 thoughts on “Casual Friday 4/24/15

  1. Faraday's Candle April 24, 2015 / 3:56 pm

    It must have been so wonderful to see the hummingbird. looking to seeing them this summer.

    It is always a great idea to walk away from work and leaving it behind. You are always able to give your job much more when you return.

    Like

    • Good Woman April 25, 2015 / 10:38 am

      I find the hummingbirds to be absolutely fascinating to watch. And I am finally able to leave my work at work. It took my entire career to accomplish that but now that I am seriously considering retiring I realize that my job will go on without me. That sounds sadder that I mean it to. My job and I will be fine.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kim April 25, 2015 / 2:31 am

    I’ve never seen a hummingbird, but they look incredible in photographs. I think I would spend all day watching them if I could. Enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 25, 2015 / 9:45 am

      You would find them to be absolutely fascinated. We get so excited about seeing them. All summer long one of us will say, “Hummingbird!”. And we will all turn to the window to watch them. Sometimes while I am sitting out on the deck they will fly by very closely as they fly towards the feeder..

      Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 28, 2015 / 8:54 pm

      Yes I am in New Mexico. We go more snow on Sunday (two days ago). At least at this time of year the snow melts quickly and it is not extremely cold. But that is what happens in the mountains.

      Like

Leave a Reply

