Casual Friday – 4/17/15

Casual Friday BootsOn Fridays I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.”

Can someone please tell me where time goes? It is cliché to say that the older you get the faster time goes. But it is true.

I remember as a kid that big events took forever to get here. The time between Thanksgiving and Christmas seemed to last forever. Waiting for my birthday was an excruciatingly long wait. Now, events come and go at breakneck speed. I can’t believe another weekend has arrived. I finished an amazingly small amount in comparison to what I needed to do at work. I have a job where we have been understaffed for a long time but we have always manage to deliver on time. Now people are confident that we will come through on time because we always have. Yesterday a colleague who is my partner in a project asked me if I realized how little time we had until our date to deliver.  Yes, I am well aware. I need the ability to cast a Harry Potter type spell where everyone and everything gets frozen in time and place, but someone (me) is allowed to move around and do all kinds of things. That’s the supernatural power I need right now. Oh, heck, while I’m at it, I want a magic wand that I can wave and have all my work completed.

I am blessed in that no matter what is going on in my life or how much stress I am under, I can usually sleep. Tuesday night of this week I woke up just after 2 a.m. with a thorny work issue on my mind. I tossed and turned while the problem kept niggling in my head. I’d manage to push it away and start to doze off only to have it poke its way into my mind again. I finally got out of bed, made a few notes and formed a plan of action in my mind. After that I easily fell asleep. I was in deep sleep when my alarm went off at 5:15 but so grateful that I got some good quality sleep. And remarkably, the middle-of-the-night plan of action actually worked and the problem was resolved.

We are having a bit of a cold spell right now after having several weeks of balmy weather. After dinner Thursday evening when I tried to take my dogs for their walk I had put on a hoodie. I walked a little way and realized I was much too cold. I had to shorten our walk because I was so uncomfortable.  My little dachshund was happy to come inside because he was shivering. But the yellow labrador was very disappointed. You can just tell. It turns out that the temperature was 50º F. It felt much colder than that.

Our hummingbird feeders have been up for a couple of weeks but so far we have not seen any of the tiny birds. We have a feeder mounted right on our large living room windows and we enjoy watching their activity. I am so very eager for the first sighting of the season.

We do not have any big plans for the weekend so I will able to do whatever moves me. When you have an active and fast paced job like I have, unplanned, quiet weekends are often the best.

Hoping for everyone to have a happy, beautiful spring weekend.

12 thoughts on “Casual Friday – 4/17/15

  1. Moongazer April 17, 2015 / 7:48 am

    How cool is that? To have hummingbirds to watch from your window! I get excited when our Robin braves the cats, and perches on top of my stone dragon.
    I totally agree with you about the time thing. I don’t know what it is, exactly, but it definitely seems to be speeding up more the older I get.

    Like

  2. amiewrites74 April 17, 2015 / 9:15 am

    Yes, the older I get, the faster time goes. Enjoy your quiet, beautiful weekend!

    Like

  3. Breathing Life April 17, 2015 / 10:10 am

    Hope the little hummingbirds arrive soon. Ours stay all winter so we get to enjoy them out our kitchen window. Somehow watching them slows time, at least a little.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 18, 2015 / 4:31 am

      Since we had some snow in the late evening last night I guess it’s a good thing they have not shown up yet. Our winters are muc too cold for them to stay around. I love watching them.

      Like

  4. guevaragem April 17, 2015 / 6:42 pm

    There’s a psychic connection between hummingbirds and fairies. Or so Lorraine Warren says. So if you see a hummingbird it means fairies are nearby.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good Woman April 18, 2015 / 4:27 am

    I like that thought a lot. Since our hummingbird feeders get a lot of traffic once the birds arrive, I can visualize fairies flitting around in the trees in my backyard. Are you referring to Lorraine Warren of paranormal fame?

    Like

  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature April 25, 2015 / 2:48 pm

    Some people say the world is turning faster. I’m thinking it seems faster because the older we get, the less percentage of our total age time is. Like if you are say 8, 1 year is 1/8 of your life. If you are 60, 1 year is 1/60 of your life. It’s shorter. I don’t know if that makes sense to anyone except me. Also, we have so much more to do and stress over than we did when we were 8.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 26, 2015 / 10:13 pm

      I agree with your theory. I have always thought that each bit of time is perceived within our total life experience so as we get older each moment is a smaller fraction of the time we have experienced. I think that is exactly what you are saying. Great minds….

      Like

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature April 27, 2015 / 2:16 pm

        Yeah, but you explained it so much better!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Good Woman April 28, 2015 / 9:02 pm

          I actually think you explained it better. I liked the concrete comparison.

          Like

Leave a Reply

