I Love You More – A Saturday Stitching Post

imageAfter having finished a very large, long-term project prior to Christmas, I needed my next cross stitch project to be fairly easy and a quick stitch. I had visited my daughter in her current home in Nashville over Christmas, and I decided to stitch something for her that would match her color scheme. For a long time I have thought about stitching a saying that has been part of our conversations innumerable times over the years. I often followed her “I love you” with “I love you more.”

I started the project in January by charting the design. That simply means that I got out graph paper and drew the design that I wanted to use. Then it was a matter of picking out the floss colors and fabric. For me it is absolutely thrilling to make those first stitches in a project and gradually see the design unfold.

Ordinarily something like this would take me less than a month, but somewhere in there I started blogging which consumed a lot of the time that I would have spent stitching. My early goal had been to have it completed for her February birthday, but I missed that deadline. It seemed like a perfect gift for Easter.

image

I don’t think the colors in the photo are true to the actual project. The main color is a beautiful shade of teal with outline colors of gray and a bright peach. The fabric is very white.

I had originally intended to stitch a border around the design and also thought about stitching a patterned background, but in this case I think simplicity was the best option.

I have tried to recycle frames that I have gathered over the years, and this particular frame is something I have had for a long time. My very cooperative sister added a fresh coat of gray paint to this frame, and although this picture does not show it she added a stripe of teal on the side of the frame.

I had packaged and shipped this early in the week before Easter, and I had intended to post it last week Saturday, but my daughter decided to wait to open it until Easter morning. I didn’t want to publish the post before she had opened it in the event she checked out my blog.

She loved the gift including the stitching and the frame.

An expression of love, just another thread of my life.

14 thoughts on “I Love You More – A Saturday Stitching Post

  1. Lutheranliar April 11, 2015 / 9:51 am

    I share your feeling of excitement at starting a project like this (!) What a wonderful project. Thank you for sharing your story as well as the result.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 11, 2015 / 12:51 pm

      I love the beginning and the end. I admit I sometimes get bogged down in the middle but I usually manage to get through that.

      Like

  2. Austin April 11, 2015 / 10:32 am

    I stopped by to return the favor. Happy Saturday! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 11, 2015 / 12:50 pm

      Thanks for taking the time to comment and for visiting my blog. I love the sharing in the blogging community.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. swimsonemile April 11, 2015 / 1:01 pm

    I am ALL for simplicity. Your daughter is lucky is have such great keepsake gifts. They are priceless. Nice stitching!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 11, 2015 / 10:51 pm

      Thank you very much. My daughter does treasure the few things that I have stitched specifically for her. I am not sure how she will feel when it is one day her responsibility to find homes for all the pieces that are in my home. She would be likely to keep some of them but it might turn out to be a chore to find homes for all of them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • swimsonemile April 12, 2015 / 6:38 am

        I doubt it would be a chore. My siblings and I had to divide up my mother’s masterpieces – now that was the hard part. We all wanted quite a few of the same pieces. I truly treasure the ones I have.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Good Woman April 12, 2015 / 10:40 pm

          The way I see it she will have first choice. And I have plenty of step-grandchildren and step-great grandchildren, many of whom I think would appreciate something of Grandma’s. But knowing my daughter she will stress needlessly about making sure everyone is happy with whatever they get. I might need to designate who should get what, and then her chore would be to get them delivered to the varied places where everyone lives.

          Liked by 1 person

          • swimsonemile April 13, 2015 / 6:19 am

            Sounds like the apple didn’t fall too far from the tree and I bet it will be a joyous chore to deliver those treasures.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. The Hook April 11, 2015 / 4:40 pm

    “An expression of love, just another thread of my life.”
    Brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 11, 2015 / 10:52 pm

      Thank you for reading the post and taking the time to comment.

      Like

    • Good Woman April 11, 2015 / 10:53 pm

      Thank you for your comment. I took a quick look at your blog. I will want to spend more time there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

