Casual Friday 4/10/15

Casual Friday BootsOn Fridays I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.”

What a week!

There is so much going on at work. Several projects I am involved in are either picking up speed or hitting road blocks.  There just is not enough time to deal with everything so each day we make as much progress as we can and then hit it again the next day. I can honestly say I am never bored but I am feeling that I could use a little bit of boredom about now. I come home exhausted every day. I so need this weekend!

I have talked about my love of sports and that in particular I follow March Madness and specifically the Wisconsin Badgers, Wisconsin being my alma mater.  The Badgers won over imageKentucky Saturday night but then lost to Duke on Monday night in the championship game. Both games were very exciting. And we all feel so very proud of the Badgers and the season they game us even thought they did not win the last game. There were questionable calls in both games so there is some controversy but the fact is the Badgers did enough to win on Saturday night and did not do enough on Monday night. What is completely uncalled for is the reaction of people on all sides of the contests. The name calling and the slurs against teams and fans and certain players and coaches is too extreme. It seems like a lot of the fans need anger management. (There might be post forthcoming about that!)

Today, the NFL pre-season football schedule was announced with the first game scheduled for August 9, only 4 months away. Can you tell I love college basketball and both college and NFL football? I am not wanting to wish my life away and I will enjoy plenty of things before the fall football season, but I do so enjoy football.

imageBeautiful spring weather continues in Santa Fe. The aspen trees continue to leaf out and add bright green color to the landscape.  The hummingbird feeders are out but we have not yet seen any of the tiny birds here. Our Japanese maples have beautiful pink flowers forming a beautiful contrast to the emerging feathery, red-purple leaves. It is so enjoyable to be able to spend time outdoors. The one downside is the extreme wind that recurs in New Mexico every spring.

Last year at this time I had just returned from Atlanta on a visit to my daughter and was getting ready for a business conference to San Antonio. This year I am happy to be able to be at home and enjoy the spring. My daughter will hopefully be able to visit in May.

I would characterize my week as busy at work, relaxing at home, enjoying the spring weather, and grateful for the approaching weekend.

Have a great weekend.

This and that and miscellany, another thread of my life.

5 thoughts on “Casual Friday 4/10/15

  1. amiewrites74 April 10, 2015 / 8:23 am

    Congrats to Wisconsin! I immediately thought of you when I heard that they beat Kentucky and were advancing to the championship 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 11, 2015 / 10:55 pm

      That was a thrilling game for us. It was something no one else had been able to do this year.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. JF April 11, 2015 / 3:44 pm

    Hi, young girl. Glad to meet you! Love smart and beautiful women! Best to you! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 11, 2015 / 10:57 pm

      Thank you for your follow. You are so cute–you are one of few bloggers who can legitimately call me “young girl”. I checked out your blog and it is great.

      Like

Leave a Reply

