Casual Friday 4/3/20

Casual Friday BootsOn Fridays I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.”

Sometime I wake up in the morning and just feel good about life and everything that is going on. This morning was one of those mornings.  It has been warm enough that I sleep with the windows open.  The wake up temperature was about 40° outdoors so my bedroom had a bit of chill but the room was filled with fresh air. There was a bit of a breeze and the melodic tones of a  wind chime were floating through the open window. I had a deep-seated feeling of joy and harmony.

As I have established in previous Casual Friday posts I am a huge fan of college basketball. My Wisconsin Badgers continued on in the NCAA basketball tournament with an Elite Eight victory over Arizona last Saturday. That lands them in the Final Four facing Kentucky tomorrow night.  Unbeaten Kentucky is the favorite to win the whole tournament but we hope Wisconsin will give them a good battle and ultimately prevail.

The weather all week was warm and gorgeous with the only downside being the infamous spring time New Mexico winds. A lot of dust and pollen is flying around contributing to raging allergies. To me that is the only downside of spring. My eyes are red all the time and I feel congested. It usually does not last very long for me and I can just outlast the symptoms.

I reached 200 followers on my fledgling blog this week and am happy about that.

Work fills most of my days.  On Monday I had to go out of town for a conference planning session which meant leaving early and getting home late.  I had to take a few hours off later in the week so I would not exceed 40 hours of work. I left early the office early one afternoon. What did I do? I opened the windows in my bedroom so a fresh breeze was blowing through, and I took a luxurious, wonderful nap. The windows are now likely to remain open through most of the summer except when it rains.

I finished a cross stitch piece early in the week and framed it. It is for my daughter so I got it packaged up and shipped along with some Easter candy.  We won’t be together to celebrate Easter but I will help fill her Easter basket. My sister who lives with me does most of the shopping for us and along with some candy for my daughter, she brought home my favorite candy, Reese’s peanut butter cups.  Shame on her! I cannot resist them and if they are here I will eat them.

My typical day starts at 5:15 when I get up, take a shower and get ready for work. I have built a free hour into my morning routine so I have time to do whatever I want before I have to leave for work. I started this habit a few years ago because I would take my yellow Lab for a mile walk each morning. My aging dog can no longer handle that long of a walk so my agenda has changed but I find that I really value that hour to myself in the morning.  Since I am a sports fan I might watch Mike & Mike in the Morning on ESPN2.  I might visit my blog and write a post or visit other blogs. I might read or pray. I might review my planned day at work. I take the dog out for a brief time and pick up the paper.  I read the paper, eat some breakfast and then head off for work. I find that with in free hour my day starts out more gently and I develop the appropriate mindset for a productive day at work.

Our little piebald dachshund was under the weather this week and was off his food. We decided to wait a day or two before taking him to the vet and he was fine the second day. We found Dog TV billed as “the first TV channel for dogs, with programs scientifically designed to assure that your dog is happy and relaxed when home alone.”  We turned it on and it had calm and relaxing nursery type music.  It was portraying babies in one segment and little puppies in another segment. This morning I tuned in to it and it was showing beautiful landscape pictures and more soothing music.  The tag said “Stimulating programs to start your dog’s day in a happy, playful mood.” I don’t know if this programming will comfort our rescue dachshund who is upset whenever my sister leaves the house and all the while she is gone. But I do know this music is very relaxing for me.

Have a great weekend everyone.  Happy Easter!

Musings from my week, another thread of my life.

4 thoughts on “Casual Friday 4/3/20

  1. Phyllis April 3, 2015 / 9:22 am

    I enjoyed spending the week with you and your dachshund and your sister. I overdid the Reese’s though, and I’m sneezing just a bit 😉 . Happy Holidays…

    Like

  2. amiewrites74 April 3, 2015 / 3:56 pm

    Congrats on 200 followers! Have a wonderful Easter !

    Like

  3. busy lady April 3, 2015 / 4:32 pm

    Happy Easter–Resurrection Day!–to you too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

