Casual Friday – 3/27/15

Casual Friday BootsOn Fridays I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.”

This was my week.

In the Greatly Annoying Department, my personal Facebook account was cloned this week. My current Facebook friends were invited to friend me again. Many of them were aware of the scam going around so rather than re-friending me they informed me this was happening. One person who accepted the invitation was immediately instant-messaged (supposedly by me). The message told her to delete my original Facebook profile and use the new one because the original one was infected by a Trojan virus. She messaged me upon the receipt of the message so I knew what was going on. I changed my password and notified Facebook that someone was using my identity. Facebook deleted the cloned account relatively quickly. I have heard now about other people to whom this has happened. I have heard that the cloned account sends out messages asking for money. It was an annoying happening because who wants to deal with that?  

imageOur first daffodils appeared this week.  It is spring!

We are saddened this week to hear about the lost of 150 lives from the airplane that crashed in the Alps.  And shocked with the allegation that the co-pilot deliberately caused the plane to crash. Such a tragedy for the victims and their families.

We watched many basketball games and will watch more throughout this weekend.  Wisconsin won two games over last weekend and made it to the Sweet 16.  The Badgers and imageNorth Carolina played a very exciting game last night.  Wisconsin won and will compete in the Elite Eight against Arizona on Saturday. This will be a repeat of last year’s Elite Eight match-up in which Wisconsin won in overtime.  The games certainly won’t get easier for the Badgers. I am a Wisconsin alumni and thus follow the Badgers closely.  But overall I am a men’s college basketball fan so I enjoy many other games as well.  March Madness is followed closely by us at the Good Woman’s homestead. One of my blog followers has been telling me about how exciting women’s basketball is as well–and very different from men’s basketball–so I just may have to try to take in a woman’s game.

I found some time for leisure reading this week, continuing with the same book I had been reading.  It has bogged down a bit but I am hoping it will pick up soon.  I also did some cross stitching as that is something I can do while basketball is on the TV.

I continue to visit many blogs in the hope of increasing my followers.  I will soon hit the 200 mark.  I am truly appreciative of my followers and I continue to enjoy this blogging journey.

In the Tickle My Funny Bone Department, the place I work has a help desk that people contact for computer issues.  When a ticket has been closed the customer gets an email asking them to evaluate the help they received.  This week a response was received in which the employee was rated very highly, given a rating of 5 out of 5 in every category which include things like Professionalism,  Promptness and other categories.  Then the customer added a comment which was also very positive.  But the comment section has a finite length, and this is what was  actually posted:

I can’t say enough about C- – – – -. He’s so professional, accurate and always willing to go the extra mile to get the job done. He always makes sure that the job at hand gets done correctly, even if it takes him longer than what he expected. He’s a true ass

And with that I will end my casual Friday post.

I hope everyone has a great weekend.

14 thoughts on “Casual Friday – 3/27/15

  1. salpal1 March 27, 2015 / 12:53 pm

    love that last bit! And am impressed that you can do cross stitch and watch basketball – don’t you need to look at your work? I can do mindless knitting during games but not anything that I have to pay attention to. 🙂

    Lots of good basketball coming up in the next few weeks – many dropped stitches ahead. 🙂

    So happy to hear someone has mud and daffodils. We have piles of dirty snow still. It is a dreary time of year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 28, 2015 / 10:44 am

      When I am watching TV I work on a rather simple, basic design that does not require very much attention. I can then glance back and forth between the TV and my work, and both activities are rather mindless. However, when I am watching my team I can do nothing but watch because if the game is at all close I am a nervous wreck. You might be interested that as I blog right now I have the UConn – Texas woman’s tournament game on tv.

      Liked by 1 person

      • salpal1 March 29, 2015 / 7:31 am

        And did you enjoy the Brianna Stewart show? And have fun watching tiny little spitfire Moriah Jefferson? They make it look so easy, but soon they will meet 2 teams that can really play consistently for 40 minutes, and hopefully, they will still win. I do worry a bit about Notre Dame… they are very good and not afraid of UConn.
        For the record, we watched your boys squeak one out last night – did not stay up for the KY game, but now am sorry as it looks like it was a good game.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Good Woman April 1, 2015 / 9:51 pm

          I realized that since I hadn’t followed the team through the season that it wasn’t as interesting to me as it might have been since they won so handily. But then I heard that there next game was very close so I wish I would have seen that. Wisconsin’s game ended up not being too close by the end, unlike last year when it went into overtime before Wisconsin won, but it was interesting enough. The Kentucky – Notre Dame game was really close. Excited for the Saturday evening match up.Good luck to your team in the Final Four.

          Liked by 1 person

          • salpal1 April 2, 2015 / 5:39 am

            Well, there is always next year. 🙂 ESPN is good about carrying women’s games throughout the season, usually on Saturday, but sometimes Sunday. they don’t get the coverage the men get, but it is better every year. Big weekend ahead! Good luck to you as well.

            Like

    • Good Woman March 28, 2015 / 10:47 am

      I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

  2. Phyllis March 27, 2015 / 4:16 pm

    Very well-rounded Friday report – love it! Welcome and intro, hard news, weather, sports, human interest, ending beautifully with humor!! (… and no irritating commercial break)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 28, 2015 / 10:49 am

      Thank you for your positive critique. I so enjoy a good laugh. Should I work on that commercial break for next time?

      Like

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature March 28, 2015 / 6:12 am

    Wow, I had no idea about the facebook scam. Thanks for the warning. You have a good weekend too. It is supposed to be really beautiful. Not that it ever isn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 28, 2015 / 10:52 am

      The weather is particularly lovely this morning. Regarding the Facebook thing, over the past few months I occasionally received a friend request from someone who already was a friend but I never accepted them. When it happened to me I found out what it was all about. I have to feel sorry for people who seemingly have nothing else to do but mess with other people’s lives. I am not saying Facebook is my life, but I expect you get my meaning.

      Like

Leave a Reply

