The Worst Things That Can Happen to a Book Lover – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten TuesdayMy Top Ten Tuesday list this week is not my original work.  It derives from a BuzzFeed list of 26 Worst Things Than Can Happen to a Book Lover.  Since my list consists of only 10 items I have pared the list down to those things that I personally feel are the worst of the worst. That task was not easy because there are a lot of really good items on the list, and perhaps one or two of my own that I could have added.  A lot of these issues would no longer be a problem for me if I were to join the e-book movement, but alas, I am one of those people who still prefers reading a physical copy of a book.  The feel, the heft, the weight, the smell, the page-turning, highlighting favorite parts, writing comments in the margin, easily going back to a previous passage, etc. are all things I enjoy and do not want to give up. Therefore, I am likely to have some of these things happen to me yet again.

The Top Ten Worst Things That Can Happen to a Book Lover:

  1. Lending a book to a friend and getting it back ruined.
  2. Lending a book to a friend and not getting it back at all.
  3. Losing your book especially if you are close to finishing it.
  4. Sitting next to someone who keeps talking to you even though you are clearly reading.
  5. Finding out you were carrying your book in the same bag as a leaky water bottle.
  6. Accidentally dropping your book in the bath or pool or whatever body of water you were lounging and reading in.
  7. Realizing you hate a book two thirds of the way through it and then struggling through the rest of it because you won’t let it win.
  8. Getting to a cliff hangar right as your work break is ending.
  9. Being asked what your favorite book is, as if there’s just one.
  10. Moving.

To all the book lovers,  which of these are the worst of the worst?  What other things would you add to this list?

[Note:  I found Top Ten Tuesday features on other blogs much older and well-established than mine.  I did not deliberately steal this idea from another website.  It was probably just in looking for alliteration and a week day feature that I came up with the same title that others have used.  However, I do want to give credit to another Top Ten Tuesday blog because I find it to be fascinating and it relates well to this week’s list.   Check out The Broke and the Bookish. They have a weekly list that always relates to books.]

The book-loving good woman, just another thread of my life.

20 thoughts on “The Worst Things That Can Happen to a Book Lover – Top Ten Tuesday

  1. susieshy45 March 24, 2015 / 6:46 am

    For me, it has always been- seeing a book, you so want to read in a book shop and not having enough money to pay for it.
    I like the hard copy myself.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 6:16 pm

      Aw, that would be hard to not be able to buy it. Could you check it out from a library? Or find it at a used book store? Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • susieshy45 March 24, 2015 / 7:42 pm

        I was unemployed when this happened regularly- so it was awful- these days with a small income, it is better. A book temptation (with no resources )is one of the worst things a book lover can have.

        Like

        • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 7:46 pm

          I am glad it is somewhat better now for you. There were times in my life when I had no extra money for books, Everyone in my family is a reader, and I might not always get to read the exact book I would prefer, but there are always books around and I know I will find one that interests me.

          Liked by 1 person

          • susieshy45 March 24, 2015 / 11:42 pm

            I feel saddest when I see a book and it costs too much. I feel like a treat has been taken off from me. Then for many days I keep off from bookshops.
            Then these days, there are so few books I want to keep because there are so few books that are good for a second read. I feel sad this way too and after one read, it is only good to be given away.

            Like

  2. 5, 7 and 10! 1 and 2 are a drag, but at least they are replaceable. You said it well – the part about realizing you don’t like the book part way through and reading to the end anyway. Haha! A lot of people just put it down and stop wasting time, but I seem to have to get to the end. Maybe because I don’t want to miss out in case it becomes good in the very next chapter! Moving is horrid when one has a lot of books – and culling the horde, is impossible. And realizing your book has shared space with a leaky water bottle. Then it gets all thick and wavy and pages sticking together – losing the gentle feel of page turning. Such a bummer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 6:21 pm

      Over the last 10 years or so I have decided that if I am not into a book within 30 pages or so I won’t continue it, except for classics. There are just too many good books out there and so little reading time to waste it with something I don’t enjoy. But after I invest a lot more time in it then I would feel I have to finish it. So true about the problems with moving.

      Like

  3. amiewrites74 March 24, 2015 / 9:26 am

    #4 because I get so lost in another world when I am reading and I do not want to be disturbed (and I may be a tad antisocial)
    #7 because once I start a book I just am compelled to finish. There have been a couple exceptions but otherwise I stick with it until the bitter end.

    I would also add: having a book that you just can’t put down and staying up all night to finish it and then walking around like a zombie the next day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 6:22 pm

      I am so guilty of reading way too late, and then paying the consequences. One would think I would get smarter about that as I get older…but I still do that. That is a good addition to the list.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 60while60 March 24, 2015 / 10:00 am

    I am one of those people too, who likes to read the physical copy. My worst would be to lose my note book I keep on the books I read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 6:28 pm

      I did that once…lost my notebook. I started my notebook after several instances of buying books that I had already have. The notebook turned up 5 or so years later. It wouldn’t be a problem now because I use Goodreads to keep track of my books, but this would be a great addition to the list.

      Like

  5. swimsonemile March 24, 2015 / 7:11 pm

    Definitely not getting my book back. In fact I won’t lend a book to anyone but my sister.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 7:50 pm

      I know of some other people who would never loan a book out because they have been burned so many times. But I always love being able to encourage someone else’s reading (I guess I’m an enabler) that I will always lend them. Frequently the favor is returned, but I have lost a few books in my day. (This reminds me I need to email a friend and find out if he is finished with a couple of my books.)

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Ginny March 31, 2015 / 8:10 am

    #7 is the worst for me. I have only abandoned 1 book in my lifetime and I am determined to go back and read it. I never knew why I feel I can abandon a book, and now I know; so it won’t win! You are amazing! I never looked at it that way. But you have hit it right on the nose! I am reading a series that a friend gave me for Christmas 2013. I am almost done the 2nd book and am pushing myself to finish. The first one was quite boring and took me forever to get through. The 2nd is a little better, but I still have been reading it for a long time. I will not let this series win!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman April 1, 2015 / 9:42 pm

      You do have perseverance. If I am not enjoying a leisure book within the first 30 or so pages I may not continue, unless it’s a classic. I just feel there are so many books and so little time to waste it on something I am not enjoying. Also I spent enough years as a student reading books that I had to read rather than those I wanted to read that I got over it. But it’s another thing if I have made it 2/3rd’s of the way through. Then I feel more of an obligation to finish.

      Like

  7. Aggie May 2, 2015 / 3:25 am

    If I may add to your list, being able to collect all the books in a particular series, except for the last book. Or having a row of books in a series, of the same size, same edition and by the same publisher with confluent/coordinated covers, BUT one book is of a different size/edition/publisher/cover–this is especially annoying when that lone book happens to be the middle book in the series. I can’t decide whether to put it at the end of the series, thereby disrupting the chronology. Or letting it remain in its original order, but sticking out like a sore thumb. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman May 3, 2015 / 10:15 pm

      That is a good edition to the list. From your description it sounds like your books are very well organized and in good order. Mine are a little more haphazard but I can surely relate to that being an issue.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

