Unicorns – A Saturday Stitching Post

The unicorn”, she said, “was a marvelous beast, shining with honor, wisdom and strength. Just to see him strengthened the soul.”
–Megan Lindholm; The Unicorn in the Maze

There is something universally appealing about the mystical, magical, legendary unicorn.  I personally have been fascinated by the lore of the unicorns for a very long time.  In this week when we celebrated St. Patrick’s Day, I was reminded of a song from my teenage years by the Irish Rovers, a Canadian Irish folk group, called The Unicorn.

The Irish Rovers is a group that was thought to be largely responsible for the interest in Irish music in North America and has been performing for more than 50 years.  The song was from 1968 and was the song that the Irish Rovers were best known for in the U.S.  It reached number 2 in the U.S. Adult Contemporary Charts and number 7 in Billboard’s Hot 100. The song was written by Shel Silverstein.

imageRecalling this song reminded me of a a cross stitch piece I had done in the mid 80’s. It is another piece that I stitched but never framed.  It was worked at a time when I did not think of my craft as being something long lasting so I did not record the actual date. I am relying on my rather foggy memory as to when I probably stitched it. I am sure that it is a relatively early example of my craft as it is a relatively easy design. My stitched piece The Unicorn is the feature of this week’s Saturday Stitching Post.

[Project Details: The source was The Unicorn Book by Betty Ashley (1980).  14 count white Aida was used with 2 strands of DMC floss; primarily cross stitch with french knots and lazy daisy embroidery stitch. Finished size 5 1/2″ x 4″}

13 thoughts on “Unicorns – A Saturday Stitching Post

    • Good Woman March 21, 2015 / 1:06 pm

      I think it was the garland-like flowers that attracted me to this particular design. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  1. bestthingsinlife1964 March 21, 2015 / 10:31 am

    The Irish Rovers bring back so many great memories for me. Now I’m going to be humming The Unicorn all morning.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good Woman March 21, 2015 / 1:07 pm

      It is quite a catchy tune. I will also have it in my mind for quite a while.

      Like

  2. swimsonemile March 21, 2015 / 11:23 am

    I have a vague memory of this song – probably because it wasn’t in the top 40 pop hits – I’m sure though it was on the radio station my mom was listening to. But what really surprises me is Shel Silverstein wrote this song. Thanks the fun fact and trip down memory lane.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good Woman March 21, 2015 / 1:10 pm

    I think it was in the Top 40. But I am sure we can’t remember every song that was there. I didn’t realize it was written by Shel Silverstein either until I did a little research for this post. I expect Shel Silverstein was not well known back then so the connection may never have been made.

    Like

  4. Eileen On March 21, 2015 / 3:02 pm

    Another thumbs up for unicorns! For last year’s National Bike Challenge I was captain of Team Magical Unicorn Dream Cycle. (We wore Unicorn socks.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 7:55 pm

      That sounds like an appropriate name. Unicorns always struck me as magical (as indicated by using that word in my description) and they are a think of dreams. I hope your name and your socks brought good luck to your team.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Life of Janine March 22, 2015 / 5:52 am

    I remember the Irish Rovers playing at Phil’s Pancake House in Calgary about the same time The Unicorn was released. Then they had a pub downtown for several years and would show up and play occasionally (or Will Millar would play). Lots of really lovely memories from this song. Thanks for posting this as I had forgotten all about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 7:58 pm

      When I was doing some research I read that they had a pub for a time. What fun that would have been. I had not thought of them for years but somehow the Irish holiday of St. Patrick’s day brought out some interesting memories. You are welcome and thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Angelia Sims March 24, 2015 / 1:32 pm

    Now that is a pretty cross-stitch! And what a funny song. I haven’t heard that. No idea that Unicorns had their own Irish song. Too cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 24, 2015 / 8:00 pm

      Thank you for reading, listening and commenting. This is one of those songs that was brought to mind and then I could not forget it. Just had to include it in a post. And thank you so much for following me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

