Casual Friday 3/20/15

Casual Friday BootsOn Friday I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.”

Enjoy this week’s version.

I follow college basketball and in particular my alma mater, the University of Wisconsin.  On Sunday Wisconsin won the Big Ten Conference Tournament and within an hour they were named one of the number one seeds in the NCAA tournament.  My hope going in to the selection show was that Wisconsin would not end up in the same region as Kentucky or Arizona.  I got half of my wish.  Kentucky is by far the favorite to win the whole thing so who would choose to meet them in an early round? That part worked out for me.  If both schools last that long they would not meet until the Final Four.  Arizona also has a great team. Because I have good friends and family in Arizona, I would prefer that the teams would not have to meet each other before the Final Four.  Arizona and Wisconsin are assigned to the same region and if they both keep winning there would be a rematch of last years Elite Eight game which Wisconsin won in overtime.  I will watch a lot of basketball over the next couple weeks.

It was another very busy (almost overwhelming) week at work.  I am so grateful for the weekend.  I told someone that all it would take is to have two bad days in a row at work and I might retire.  That about summed up the week.

My sister cooked traditional corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick’s Day.  That is probably the only time in the whole year that we eat it and it was very, very good.

I indulged in reading this week.  I finished Primary Justice by William Bernhardt and then read Tears of the Giraffe by Alexander McCall Smith.  That is the #2 book in the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series and has been on my list for a long time.  Both books were quick reads and enjoyable.  Now I am reading Someone Else’s Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson.  My sister had heard the author speak at the Southern Festival of the Books in Nashville last year and loaned me the book after she had finished it.  We had listened to the book on CD A Grown Up Kind of Pretty by the same author on our road trip home from Nashville over Christmas so I thought I would enjoy this book as well.

imageToday is the first day of spring.  And, as if on cue, when I got home from work last night I noticed the first blossoms on our dwarf peach tree. We had a soft, gentle rain over night.  Rain is always  welcome here as we pray for our drought to come to an end.

Today is also the International Day of Happiness. Although happiness has different meanings for different people, anything we can do to help others to be happy should be encouraged. The UN promotes this day in support of the idea that happiness is a fundamental human goal. I am a happy person, and I hope that through my actions and my attitude I also bring happiness to other people.  Of course, any of us will have circumstances and events that are not positive. But we make decisions about how those things will affect us. Here’s hoping that most people have a positive, happy outlook in spite of the challenges in life.

A happy week, just another thread of my life. 

Also check out Amie’s Casual Friday post.

13 thoughts on “Casual Friday 3/20/15

  1. busy lady March 20, 2015 / 9:11 am

    I enjoyed your post, but especially the part about basketball. I live in Kentucky with my sister and her husband. He is a sports fan and follows the KY team religiously! I must hope with you that Wisconsin doesn’t have to meet KY. It wouldn’t have mattered much before, but now I know someone that cares about Wisconsin! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 20, 2015 / 6:33 pm

      The way the brackets were drawn up if both teams keep winning Wisconsin and Kentucky will meet in the Final Four. The only alternative would be one of the teams would have to lose earlier. I sure don’t want Wisconsin to lose and to keep peace in your house you probably don’t want Kentucky to lose, so it may be more inevitable that they meet. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. busy lady March 20, 2015 / 9:12 am

    I had to go back to comment on happiness. I find that my relationship with Jesus Christ brings joy, even when happiness is elusive, which when circumstances aren’t conducive to happiness, I still have joy because He is in charge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 20, 2015 / 6:36 pm

      I am with you but I will admit that he and I have had quite the discussions at some difficult times in my life. But I have learned time and time again that if I am faithful he too will be faithful, will be with me through everything and will help me gain equillibrium again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. amiewrites74 March 20, 2015 / 11:15 am

    I could have really used your expertise when I was filling out my bracket. Good luck to your teams!

    I think you are a very positive person 🙂 That is something that I need to work on personally. I have been mindful lately of how I react to negativity. I am trying to have a more positive attitude – for my own happiness but also to spread to the people around me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 20, 2015 / 6:48 pm

      I am not sure my expertise would have really helped you because I don’t do the brackets myself. You seem to be positive as well. I think as I’ve aged I have learned to be more accepting of others and of life’s situations. I also have learned that one way or another things will work out so I might as well not stress so much over things.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. salpal1 March 25, 2015 / 5:54 am

    On, Wisconsin! I did pick them to make it to the final four, but figured KY will win the whole thing. For your sake, I hope I am wrong. Love a good upset. 🙂
    The team we watch is my own alma mater – UConn – love my lady Huskies! No upsets there, please.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 25, 2015 / 7:56 pm

      I appreciate your comment. It is hard to pick against Kentucky. I am with you about loving a good upset but since Wisconsin is also a number one seed I am sure many are rooting for them to be upset in the next couple of games. I never got into following women’s basketball, probably because not so many of their games are televised out here. But good luck to your lady Huskies.

      Liked by 1 person

      • salpal1 March 26, 2015 / 10:19 am

        I love to watch the women play – it is a very different game from the men’s teams. few superstars (although plenty of great players) and so some really great team work. the one hit wonders go early, then the games are real match ups.

        As for Wisconsin being a number one – of course they are, but I think anyone who has to play KY is an underdog. 🙂 And Villanova proved that any team can beat any other team (even a number 1) on a good night.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Good Woman March 26, 2015 / 9:46 pm

          I will have to try to see a woman’s game. The Wisconsin game was very close and exciting tonight unlike the Kentucky game which was a blow out. I heard commentators say that at this point in the tournament whatever the seeds are is less important (I suppose unless you’re Kentucky.)

          Liked by 1 person

          • salpal1 March 27, 2015 / 4:47 am

            We watched a lot of the Wisconsin game, but decided they were losing because we were watching for the first time – so we shut it off and went to bed – thrilled to see this morning that they pulled it off! My other bracket that is about to either be great or dismal is the Louisville /Mich State side – I picked them both to win those coming game, then Louisville to go to the Final 4… but I am not so sure about that now… 🙂

            Like

Leave a Reply

