Yesterday’s Child – A Cross Stitch Project

image

Reaching for the Cookie Jar

Today my Saturday stitching post features a cross stitch piece that is a very early item that I stitched.  I believe I did it around 1984 although at the time I did not know enough to add my name and date to the work I did.   I was just getting into cross stitch and had no idea that it would become a passion for me for the rest of my life.  Much of my early work was completed as gifts but this is a piece I kept for myself.  It did not get framed until years later but it has now been displayed in two homes that I have lived in.

The leaflet from which the design came from contained several other pictures of children in settings from yesteryear including topics like Nap Time, Child at Play, and Newspaper Boy. However, up to this time this is the only one that I have stitched.

Reaching for the cookie jar, another thread of my life.

[Project Details:  “Reaching for the Cookie Jar” from Yesterday’s Child, designs by Penney Brittain Ramsey for June Grigg Designs, Inc. Copyright 1983.  Design worked on 14 count cream Aida with 2 strands of DMC floss, Stitch Count 87 by 129; Design Size 6 1/4″ x 9 1/4″].

8 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Child – A Cross Stitch Project

  1. susieshy45 March 7, 2015 / 3:10 pm

    It looks as fresh as the day it was made on- where did you buy the material from ?
    Did you draw the pattern yourself on the cloth and then stitch it or was the pattern on the cloth when you bought it ?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 7, 2015 / 3:20 pm

      You might be in for trouble as you are asking me to expound on one of my favorite topics. I do “counted” cross stitch which means there are no markings on the fabric itself. You use a fabric that has a definite visible pattern of little squares. Some fabrics are manufactured specifically for counted cross stitch such as a Aida. There are other even weaves called Laguna and Monaco but all have a pattern of little squares. Linen can also be used. The charts you follow have a grid on them. The grid contains symbols, one for each color of thread that will be used. I find the center of the fabric and the center of the chart. Then I follow the chart to stitch the correct number of stitches of each color in the right places. I have a stash of fabric that I have picked up over the years but if I were to buy fabric now I would look for a local needlework shop. If there is no local shop I would go online and buy it there. I hope this is not too confusing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • susieshy45 March 7, 2015 / 3:51 pm

        thank you Helen-I wanted to get you talking about your favourite craft – because, well, its nice to have someone to talk to.
        I like cross-stitch too but have done it on no cloth other than jute – there its easy to count and also follow patterns.
        Thanks for sharing !

        Liked by 1 person

        • Good Woman March 7, 2015 / 4:00 pm

          So you had an ulterior motive?! Answering your question made me think that someday I might do a post on the process and art of counted cross stitch. It is not a craft that is in vogue these days but I would love to see it make a comeback.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. susieshy45 March 7, 2015 / 6:07 pm

    And the different materials that might be used with photographs if you could, please ?
    I look forward to reading it.
    Crafts keep us from feeling lonely and sort of give us a purpose in life when all else fails.

    Like

  3. Donna George March 7, 2015 / 6:48 pm

    I like it. I personally have never cross stitched or sewed but it seems to be a passion for many people. This one is special to you.

    Like

  4. Ann GrubbsnCritters March 7, 2015 / 10:18 pm

    What a beautiful piece of work, Helen! And truly amazing that you are doing it without markings!I’m in awe. 😊

    Like

  5. "Bethie" March 8, 2015 / 7:06 am

    Reminds me of a Norman Rockwell painting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

