Giving Recognition

I am far overdue in recognizing the wonderful blog Grubbs ‘n Critters.  It is one of the first blogs with which I connected when I started blogging in January.  Ann is a long time blogger who touches on a wide variety of topics in her very interesting blog.  I love her tag line, “Life is what happens when you are making other plans.”  How true that is.  Visit her blog and see all that she offers the blogging community.

My recognition of Ann results from her nominating  my blog for the Very Inspiring Blogging Award.  Awkwardly I must state although the nomination gives me the excuse to mention her, very-inspiring-blogger-awardI dot need an excuse. I love her blog. I  must find another way to recognize great blogs without tying it to acceptance of an award that  I may or may not be deserving of.  I think it is wonderful for blogging support to be recognized by others, but for me the significance is not so much in the award but in the opportunity it provides to mention other wonderful blogs that we have discovered.

The rules:

In the spirit of building the blogging community for myself an others I accept the nomination and follow the established rules:

  1. Display the award on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. State 7 things about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 bloggers, link to them, and notify them about their nominations.

Seven facts about me:

  1. I have worked for the same public sector employer for 28 years, in different positions and different locations, and have always found the job to be stimulating and interesting.
  2. I was 33 years old when I got married for the one and only time.
  3. I used to walk one mile every morning when I first got up with my loyal and trusty yellow Labrador retriever.  That ended when I tore a meniscus on one of those walks.
  4. With apologies to those who are experiencing a harsh winter, I absolutely love viewing pictures of snowy landscapes.
  5. I cannot stand bullying in any way, shape or form.
  6. I have never had a broken bone but age has caused me to have serious arthritis issues in my knees.
  7. I am a lover of books and bookstores.  I own a large number of books that I have not yet read.  I have a huge struggle with resisting the urge to purchase more books.

I will now list 15 blogs that I visit and that I love.  I am nominating them for this award because they are deserving of the recognition.   My goal is to spread the blogging love and help them increase traffic to their blogs.  Check them out.  If they choose not to accept the award, I completely understand but I hope the fact that they are are mentioned here will send some blog traffic their way.  I am including their taglines which says a lot about what the blog is about, and I also include a brief statement of what is found on each blog, admitting that it is difficult to do justice to each blog in a brief statement.

And the nominations (in no particular order) are:

  1. Laissez Faire — Letting Life Lead.  What a great tagline that is.  I recently discovered her blog and I love the wide variety of topics and easy read style.
  2. Walking My PathMindful Wanderings in Nature.  This blogger is a psychotherapist and a naturalist.  Her blog includes the most beautiful photography and wonderful essays.  I absolutely love her list of happiness triggers.
  3. Simple LifeAt Least That’s What I’m Going For.  A young woman writer and Toastmaster who includes short stories, flash fiction and posts about random but interesting topics.  She has been blogging longer than most of my nominees.
  4. Badfish Out of Water – Travel photos, memoirs & letters home…from everywhere in the world.  A worldwide photo blog.  He gets nominated here because his blog is good but also because I didn’t nominate him for the Sisterhood of the Blogger award.
  5. It’s Me, Amy K. HallA Little Blog of Betterment.  Her story touches my heart.  Visit for thought provoking inspiration.
  6. Thoughts and ThingsA Documentation of Learning: Past, Present and Future.  She lives on a boat!  Anyone who starts their “About” page with a Henry David Thoreau quote deserves a Look See.
  7. Homemade NaturallyJoin My Journey.  A wonderful blog with varied DIY projects as well as inspirational posts.  Her post about fostering is beautiful and to me indicates how special she is.
  8. Quantum HermitA Life Unfolding.  This is another blog that I have just discovered with a great variety of posts.  I was won over by a USA post where she selected YouTube songs by Billy Joel, Peter, Paul and Mary, Elvis, and Willie Nelson to tell the story, and then I read other intriguing posts.
  9. Day by Day“That’s our lot in life.  It’s not a lot, but it’s a life.”  –A Bug’s Life.  A blog with great quotes and interesting analysis of life.  If the tag line is a quote from A Bug’s Life she has to be on to something.
  10. Your Invisible Touch Writing for My Life.  This blogger has a diverse set of interests and she writes a poetry blog with so much more including quotes and photos.  She states she is searching for her purpose in life and wondering where she is going.
  11. CharidaRose’s BlogFaith, Photography and Random Thoughts.  She is another fairly new blogger who is determining the direction of her blog.  She has many, diverse interests and she strives for an interactive readership.
  12. Bittersweet SerendipityLiving a Happy Life on Purpose.  A very young blog with an upbeat, positive inspiring message that you can choose happiness.
  13. Charlotte JohnsonReading Me: Through My Experiences.  Her deep faith is obvious in what she chooses to write about and also touches other parts of life.  Check out “Please Reverse This Creation.” It should not be missed.
  14. Taking One Stitch at a Time – “All My Scattering Moments Are Taken Up With My Needle” Ellen Birdseye Wheaton.  I am a stitcher and I absolutely must include some stitching blogs in my list of nominees.
  15. Storm’s Stitches Blackwork Embroidery Designs.  More cross stitch love.  If you need inspiration to work on a project, even if it is not stitching, take a look at her work.

Nominees:  I find each of your blogs to be wonderful in unique ways. Accept the award if you would like, but feel no obligation.  At the very least I hope your blog will receive traffic because of the nomination.

15 thoughts on “Giving Recognition

  1. susieshy45 February 22, 2015 / 2:13 pm

    Hear ! Hear ! Impressed ( very impressed) by point 5 above:
    “I cannot stand bullying in any way, shape or form.”
    Fully understand and support you.
    As a victim of workplace bullying myself, something that caused me to resign my job rather than take repeated insults to my ego, I am fully behind you.
    We need to get more people involved in this cause.
    Bullying in no situation must be tolerated and there should be something everyone can do about it.
    Great work and congratulations !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 22, 2015 / 2:42 pm

      I am so sorry for what you had to go through. There certainly need to be remedies for that kind of behavior in the work place. It turns my stomach when I hear about that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann GrubbsnCritters February 22, 2015 / 2:44 pm

    Thank you for your very kind words, Helen. 🙂 It’s always a great way to recognise other bloggers and you’ve given me a reason to check them out, too!

    I share your sentiments on beautiful snowy landscape in winters (although I’m not a big fan of the super cold climate). Well done for writing this up. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature February 22, 2015 / 5:33 pm

    Wow, Helen, thank you so much! I accept! But I don’t have a clue how to make the rules happen. I am pretty sure I know how to ping back to you, and I know who I want to nominate (although some may already have it Can they be nominated again?) How do I display the award on my site? Again, thank you so much. I will start writing right now!

    Like

    • Good Woman February 22, 2015 / 6:27 pm

      I am glad you will accept. I am sure a blog can be nominated several times, although they may choose to not go through the work of accepting a second time. It does take time although I find it helps my traffic, if that is something that is important. As far as displaying the award, I found it differed depending on what device I am using. On my iPad I can click on the picture and then save it in my photos where I can then insert it. On my laptop I needed to click on the award and copy it and then I pasted it into my new post. Hope that will work for you.

      Like

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature February 22, 2015 / 6:22 pm

    How did you display the award on your site?

    Like

  5. Good Woman February 22, 2015 / 6:29 pm

    I just tried to explain up above. Please let me know if you need more specifics.

    Like

  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature February 22, 2015 / 7:12 pm

    Thanks! I didn’t see that before.

    Like

    • Good Woman February 22, 2015 / 7:14 pm

      We may have been posting simultaneously.

      Like

  7. badfish2 February 23, 2015 / 2:47 am

    Congratulations on your award!! You have an inspiring blog. And thank you so much for nominating me. I accept and will sustain the recognition process, which I think is truly wonderful for new bloggers. Or any blogger. But I must admit, I am still a little disappointed about that “Sisterhood” badge. 😉

    Like

  8. Storm's Stitches February 26, 2015 / 8:54 pm

    Thank you so much for nominating my blog! I am very honoured ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

