Casual Friday 2/20/2015

Casual Friday BootsThis is the week that was.

My laptop came home from the shop on Friday night.  I feel I have gained back some freedom. I don’t have to be sitting at my computer desk while blogging after spending most of the day sitting at a computer at work.  Instead I can sit back in a lounge chair and relax or work on my blog anywhere. How tied I am to technology!

The biggest family event of the week was that my precious baby girl turned 26.  The Affordable Care Act has made age 26 a new rite of passage.   The Act requires that if a plan provides coverage for children, the coverage must continue until the children are age 26. With this birthday, she can no longer be on my insurance as of the end of the month.   She spent hours over the last couple months researching the different plans available and made her choice a few weeks ago.   Once she enrolled in her new plan she instant messaged me and said, “Holy smokes.  I’m growing up!”  I have been painfully aware of that practically since she started kindergarten when she told me, her tearful mother, “You have to learn to let go.”

image

The mountain peaks surrounding Santa Fe should be completely white and snow covered at this time of year. Unfortunately they are mostly brown. That does not bode well for resolving  the drought issues that we have been experiencing for the last several years. No snow means no spring run-off which we rely on to replenish the aquifers. We were fortunate to wake up Tuesday morning to a couple of inches of snow on the ground. It was absolutely beautiful snow that clung heavily to the foliage.  My morning commute was treacherous as the streets were icy.  I saw several accidents.  Most of the snow had melted by noon but I am appreciative of the precipitation we did get.

I am a huge sports fan.  The Wisconsin Badgers basketball team (from my alma mater) has provided hours of enjoyment for us as they continue to win.   We watched them play to victory on Sunday and again on Wednesday.

I did some cross stitching on Wednesday evening and again on Thursday for the first time in weeks.  I spend a lot of time on my blog and currently most of my free time is spent on it, but I do miss regular cross stitching.  I really have to work on having the right balance between blogging and my other interests.

I finished my taxes and got them filed this week.  That is one annual event that I am glad to have finished.

I spend the greatest amount of my time at the office.  I get frequently asked when I am planning to retire (are they trying to get rid of me?) and I still do not have an answer. Everyone was aware that the earliest I would retire was when my daughter was no longer on my insurance.  Now that target has been met.  I have committed to my boss that I will see my current project through to completion (target date June 1) and I had also told her that I would stay at least until she retires in October but that is not necessarily binding.  I just don’t know!

Casual Friday, reviewing the week that was, just another thread in my life.

[Each Friday I join Amie of Amie Writes for Casual Friday, a post “with no structure, no rules, anything goes. Check out her blog.]

27 thoughts on “Casual Friday 2/20/2015

  1. susieshy45 February 20, 2015 / 1:29 pm

    Helen,
    Are they asking you seriously when you want to retire or are they pulling your leg ? The latter I hope.
    Congratulations on your daughter’s new found freedom and yours too.
    Look at it this way- you will have more money to spend on yourself and on gifts for others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 7:17 pm

      They do want to know when I will retire, although at least they say that they don’t want me to. I have worked for this agency for 27 years so they rely on me to help them understand some of the policies, etc. But what they are worried about is that some of my job duties will be reassigned to them so they wonder how their jobs might be affected by their retirement.

      Like

  2. susieshy45 February 20, 2015 / 1:31 pm

    BTW how did you classify the blogs you follow – it looks so organised.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 7:22 pm

      Are you referring to the “tabs” across the top? I created a custom menu with the different categories. Then when I write a post that fits in one of the categories I make sure I add that category to the post. The post then appears on my Home page as well as in the appropriate category. I think menus will be covered next week in Blogging 101.

      Like

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature February 20, 2015 / 1:40 pm

    Wow, lot’s of big changes. Sounds like a lot of open space in a couple areas. I hear you about lack of snow. It’s pretty scary. Today is very windy here today – don’t know about Santa Fe. Tends to dry everything more. Maybe more snow this weekend. More snow!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 7:24 pm

      I have not noticed the wind here today…yet. But of course we will have all the spring time wind to look forward too. We are to the point where we practically rejoice whenever we get the least bit of precipitation. Then I hear about 6 feet of snow in the east and it makes me wonder how it can be so inconsistent across the country.

      Like

  4. saralynne7 February 20, 2015 / 3:08 pm

    Beautiful picture. No snow here, although I heard reports of “tiny flakes” north of Houston. 🙂 I have a daughter turning 26 this year too. Time flies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 7:25 pm

      It is so hard to believe how fast the kids grow up. But I am sure that has been true for every generation. But oh how I would love to slow down time.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jeanne February 20, 2015 / 4:25 pm

    We have lack of snow too and it feels disconcerting. I love the photo with boots for casual Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 7:29 pm

    Thanks for reading. I am not sure where you live but I gather it is not in the eastern United States where they have been bombarded with snow. When it is winter, I want to see snow. It has been disappointing this year.

    Like

  7. amiewrites74 February 20, 2015 / 9:59 pm

    I love the new photo for Casual Fridays!

    Happy birthday to your daughter! Sounds like it is a rite of passage for both of you – growing up for her and letting go for you. Good luck figuring out your retirement. Think of how much extra time you will have for your blog! 😉

    I am in the midwest and we don’t have a lot of snow, just enough to mess up the roads and such. My kids have been out of school all week after a 6 inch storm on Monday. I wish I could send some to you.

    Like

    • Good Woman February 21, 2015 / 1:41 am

      My daughter has been living out of state since she graduated from college in 2011 so she has been gone for a while but she’ll always be my baby. As well as she’s doing I still worry. One of the reasons I started this blog was because I thought I’d try it out in preparation for retirement. I didn’t realize I would take to it like this. I was messing around on PicMonkey which is where I came up with the logo. And I will take all the snow you can send my way.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Donna February 21, 2015 / 1:39 pm

    I find it hard to believe my girls are now 33 and 35

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 21, 2015 / 4:49 pm

      I am going to state the cliched “Where does time go?” but it is so true. Unfortunately, it means we are also growing older, which is not to be regretted but for me it emphasizes this other cliche of so much to do and so little time.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Donna February 21, 2015 / 4:55 pm

        Yes ” I woke up one day and found an old woman in my mirror. I like her though.”

        Liked by 1 person

        • Good Woman February 21, 2015 / 7:50 pm

          She’s in my mirror, too. And she moves my things so that I can’t find them.

          Like

          • Donna February 21, 2015 / 8:39 pm

            For sure that is the worst. I was trying to find my pill splitter today and I have no idea where she put it.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Good Woman February 21, 2015 / 8:54 pm

              For me, the last thing was the book I was reading. I like to read in bed before I fall asleep and I always put the book on my nightstand on the left hand side of my bed. She moved it! I found it two days later, on the floor on the other side of the bed, just barely sticking out from under the bed. So she not only moves things, she deliberately tries to hide them. I think she could wait until I finish the book before she picks it up. Did you look under your bed for your pill splitter?

              Liked by 1 person

              • Donna February 21, 2015 / 9:04 pm

                Too funny. She has a sense of humour. I think I may be a little crazy I just registered for a redo of blogging 101 and photo 101. Should keep me busy

                Liked by 1 person

                • Good Woman February 21, 2015 / 9:27 pm

                  I am doing blogging 101 for the second time but I would like to get a better camera before I do Photography 101. It does sound like you will be busy.

                  Like

                • Donna February 21, 2015 / 9:29 pm

                  I plan on getting a new camera already talked to my husband about that last night. Maybe if I play my cards right he will go camera shopping on Tuesday while I am having my colonoscopy. It would give me something good to look forward too.

                  Like

                • Good Woman February 22, 2015 / 2:54 am

                  I hope you can send the old woman in the mirror for thr colonoscopy.

                  Liked by 1 person

                • Donna February 22, 2015 / 7:05 am

                  That would make me very happy alas she never does the good stuff

                  Like

  9. Donna February 21, 2015 / 1:41 pm

    I dont mind the snow we have it is just right but would definitely give you the cold we are having right now. But it too will pass.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 21, 2015 / 4:47 pm

      I can deal with short spells of cold weather. At least where I live now it usually does not stay bitter cold for weeks on end, which it did in Wisconsin when I was growing up. But you do not have to send the cold my way.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Donna February 21, 2015 / 4:53 pm

        I don’t wish it on anyone. I keep telling my husband we need Yes need to spend the worst of winter in Arizona. It was -45 Celsius this morning but sun is shining so hope it warms up soon.

        Like

  10. Fimnora Westcaw February 21, 2015 / 8:34 pm

    I recently got my internet back after 3 weeks ‘off world’ as I call it. It made me realize how much I relied on this technology, and equally how much it distracted me from doing other things which need to be done in the house. I still managed to skirt the less pressing issues, and tended to the most important aspect of housework.

    Like

Leave a Reply

