Childhood Memories

We Prayed for a Baby
We Prayed for a Baby [1956]
Every now and then I hear about someone who has vivid memories from when they were three or even two years old.  That fascinates me, but I surely do not remember things from that far back. I do have some clear memories from when I was five years old.  I am confident of the age because my older brothers and sisters were in school and I was not.  In addition, my family moved when I was in first grade and I can identify the old farmhouse as the setting of my memories.

I had two younger brothers,  21 months and 5 1/2 years younger than me.  My first lesson in faith revolved around the birth of the baby brother. My little brother and I told our mother that we wanted to have another sister or brother.  Mom told us that if we prayed to God we might get one.  Oh my, we prayed.  And, voilà!  We got a baby!  And almost immediately! That sure convinced me of the power of prayer and of God.

We Got a Baby and a Sister
With Baby (and an Older Sister) [1958]
The baby was born in August and once school started Mom was at home with 3 preschoolers, one of them just an infant.  I was her number one helper.  I washed the breakfast and lunch dishes and did other household tasks. One afternoon my dad was going to town.  I wanted to go with him but my mom told me I could not go because I hadn’t done the lunch dishes yet.  Even then I procrastinated.  And even at age 5, my parents were instilling a work ethic. I cried but that got me nowhere.  So I attacked the dishes and managed to finish washing them in record time. I did get to go to town. I know now that my dad dallied around so that I could go with him. He loved his kids!

The school district that we lived in started optional kindergarten the year I was 5.  I was the right age to go and was certainly ready.  My brothers and sisters attended a one-room school close to our farm but kindergarten was at the big school in town.  The school district was not going to provide transportation.  With two other preschoolers at home my mom couldn’t take her turn driving the neighborhood carpool so I did not get to go to kindergarten.  But as it turned out I didn’t suffer too much.  My sisters were two and four years older than me. After they came home from school each day, and after their chores were done, we would spend hours playing school. They made flashcards with pictures and words.  They taught me phonics and sounding out words.  They were very proud to impart their great wisdom and learning to me. And I learned to read very well before I started school.

With eight kids in the family, there was not a lot of extra money.  Everyone worked hard and we all had our chores to do.  But I specifically remember we always had books around. Mom would go to yard sales and thrift stores to buy clothes for us and she also bought books. Love of reading was instilled in all of us at a very young age.  We did not have a perfect life. It was difficult in a lot of ways.  But fortunately, the filter of age allows me to recall many positive experiences of my growing up years, and not very many of the bad ones.

Early childhood memories, just another thread of my life.

16 thoughts on “Childhood Memories

  1. Lorie Smith Schaefer February 19, 2015 / 1:02 pm

    A psychologist friend of mine told me that our earliest memories hold great significance and clues to our loves, values, etc. in later life. My earliest memory is the day my baby brother came home from the hospital. I was just over two. I had asked God for a baby brother and I got one. Powerful stuff, this prayer business!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 2:55 am

      What a great thing to have as your earliest memory–and at age two! At least that is relatively easy to pinpoint how old you were because it is a date certain. Who can argue with the power of prayer when you get that kind of results. I am sure our early experiences have great influence on who we are–but are they less significant if we can’t remember them? Pondering that question.

      Like

  2. susieshy45 February 19, 2015 / 3:16 pm

    I was with you every word of the post- I could imagine you all in your farm as I read your story. Great writing and great memories !
    Is your family still around you ? Do you meet them often ?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 2:58 am

      Thank you for reading and commenting. One of my sisters lives with me but the other brothers and sister live in different states. Unfortunately both of my younger brothers passed away in their thirties but left behind children and their wives who we stay in contact with. We don’t get together as often as we would like but we still remain close in spirit.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Donna February 19, 2015 / 4:07 pm

    It sounds like it was a really nice childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 3:00 am

      We had our moments when it was not so pleasant, but overall I can say it was great. I appreciate having grown up in a large family although at the time I am not sure I realize how wonderful it was.

      Like

      • Donna February 20, 2015 / 3:03 am

        My husband is the oldest of 10 and I know he loves his family and is always positive about growing up in a large family but I am not sure he knows how wonderful it was.

        Like

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature February 19, 2015 / 7:07 pm

    Ah, the 50’s! Such a different time! Most of my memories are after 5, but my first memory was in the garden with my mom, and she was on her knees and her eyes were above me, so I couldn’t have been more than two. She was showing me “spit bugs” on flower stems – little colorful bugs encased in what looked like spit. Funny what you remember. Makes sense that Nature would be my thing. Thank you for sharing your memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 3:03 am

      What a precious, lovely memory with your mother. I remember looking at bugs in a foamy substance but I am remembering they were a bright green color. Do you remember different colors of bugs? Love of nature like so many other things must be instilled very young.

      Like

  5. busy lady February 19, 2015 / 8:48 pm

    Thanks for sharing your memories. How fun to read. I remember some things from when I was 3, like dropping a can of soup on my toe and having the nail turn black, and having my tonsils out. Those aren’t good memories 🙂 but I do have many good ones from later!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman February 20, 2015 / 3:06 am

      Those surely are not the most pleasant memories but it is interesting what you happen to recall. There must be psychologists who make a study of just such things. Maybe it is a factor of my age but I am trying to recall things that I have not thought about for a long, long time. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Carolyn February 20, 2015 / 3:46 pm

    I love this story. Thanks for sharing. You have a strong faith in God and that is Awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

