Words of the Wise – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten TuesdayFor my Top Ten Tuesday list this week, I can’t resist having a bit of irreverent fun with some word usage errors that appeared on published posts in the blogging world. This is not to suggest that I am perfect and have not made mistakes–far from it.  Rather,  I happen to think it is a great personal characteristic to be able to laugh at ourselves and some of our foibles.

I did follow a few self-imposed rules in coming up with the list:

  • I excluded any posts that were full of angst and raw emotion.  Those posts are frequently overloaded with errors but I understand that language correctness may suffer while in an emotional state.
  • I excluded any posts that were clearly written by people who do not have English as their first language.  Although non-native speakers sometimes have the best command of grammar and word usage, it is completely understandable that they might fumble.
  • All examples came from blogs but I tried to edit the examples so as not to identify a specific blog.  We deserve some anonymity when we are less than stellar.
  • I did not use more than one error from any single blog.

I hope no one is offended as that is not my intent, but I guess that is a risk I take.  My apologies to anyone who may not see the humor.

Here is the list of  errors:  [if you need help with what I think the author intended, the suggested corrections are listed at the end of this post.]

1.  “Copy written” — This error is my very own.  It sat out there in the blog world for several days on my Betty Crocker post before I realized the incorrect terminology.  Enough said.

2.  “Please bare with me” — I  don’t think this blogger was inviting us to take off our clothes with him or her.

3.  “Defence” — I wonder if the blogger was talking about removing the barrier between his yard and his neighbor’s yard.

4.  “Plastic margin tubs” –   I cannot figure out what margins have to do with plastic tubs.

5.   “Siting all the reasons why…”  Are we discussing the location of the reasons?

6.    “Chucky applesauce”  – The star of the slasher/horror movies is now creating his own food items.  Alternately the Chucky Cheese pizza franchise has expanded its menu items.

7.  “I must dominate 15 bloggers” – In the rules of the various blog awards this appears to be a new twist influenced by 50 Shades of Gray. I wonder if they will find 15 willing participants, not that this Good Woman knows anything about it.

8.  “Peace and quite” – I am at peace and am quite pleased about that.

9.  “A drink of cool aide”  – For a moment I thought he was talking about an awesome assistant.

10.  “The filed of study” – I studied and studied and then filed the information away.

I think this is what is meant for each item:  1.  Copyrighted;  2.  Please bear with me;  3.  Defense; 4.  Plastic margarine tubs;  5. Citing all the reasons why; 6. Chunky applesauce; 7. I must nominate 15 bloggers; 8.  Peace and quiet; 9.  A drink of Kool-Aid; 10. The field of study.

11 thoughts on “Words of the Wise – Top Ten Tuesday

  1. samanthamacmaster February 17, 2015 / 2:55 pm

    quiet..I meant, quite excellent! There is a reason I use the spell check and then read in preview before I post. I catch A LOT!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good Woman February 17, 2015 / 10:20 pm

    Maybe some times we rely on spell check too much thinking it will catch anything. Preview is always good…and still things get past me.

    Like

  3. mariaholm February 22, 2015 / 7:09 pm

    As a foreigner it’s so good to learn by reading this. I would be glad if any one would correct some misunderstanding in my posts.

    Like

    • Good Woman February 22, 2015 / 7:26 pm

      I would not mind letting you know if I were to see anything, but I would choose to let you know privately rather than commenting on a post.

      Like

  4. mariaholm February 22, 2015 / 7:40 pm

    I would be grateful to learn and to receive a mail on it. My mail address is on my contact info

    Like

    • Good Woman February 22, 2015 / 7:47 pm

      If I see anything I will let you know but with a quick look at some of your posts I did not see any issues.

      Like

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature March 14, 2015 / 7:26 am

    Spell check just tells you if a word is spelled wrong. Haha, it doesn’t tell you if it is the wrong word. I am sure I use wrong words a lot…especially as I age. Pretty funny.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman March 14, 2015 / 8:38 am

      You are absolutely correct about spell check. Perhaps we rely on it too much. I too make those mistakes. Fortunately, if we do catch them in our published posts we can easily correct them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

