In the Nap of Luxury

imageA wintry storm had been forecast. Snow fell over night. The landscape looked  clean and beautiful with the newly fallen snow. Like any other typical week day I got myself up and dressed and went off to work.

It snowed all morning.  The office closed at noon and we were sent home. On the short, five-minute drive home I contemplated how to spend this precious block of unexpected, unscheduled time.  I could spend uninterrupted hours reading my current mystery novel.  Or stitching on my latest counted cross stitch project.  Or working a jigsaw puzzle.  Or playing in the snow with the dogs.  Long ago, back in my teaching days in Wisconsin when I was single, there were typically several snow days each winter.  I made up my mind then that I would not use a snow day working on either schoolwork or on chores around home. I decided the day was a precious gift and I would treat it as luxury free time and spend it doing something that I really enjoy. During my marriage and while raising a child, my time wasn’t really my own so I did not have the same freedom.  Now that I am a widowed empty nester, I once again have adopted the approach from my teaching days.

Nose in the Snow
Nose in the Snow

The question remained, “How would I spend the afternoon?”  When I arrived home I ate my lunch and checked my personal email.  I spent some quality time with my loving but aging yellow Labrador retriever.  I slipped into something comfortable and thought I might take just a little nap.  You may have guessed the rest of the story.  I woke up hours later with darkness descending outdoors.  I had not read one word in my novel or stitched even one stitch.  But to me there is nothing more luxurious than a guilt free, peaceful nap in a warm, comfortable, cozy bed when the winter elements are raising havoc outdoors.  I do not feel guilty.  It was not wasted time because I never expected to have it to begin with.  It was a perfect way to spend the day.  And who knows, if I am blessed to have another snow day I might spend it in exactly the same way.

A quiet, contented, luxurious sleepy afternoon, just another thread of my life.

9 thoughts on “In the Nap of Luxury

  1. Elaine January 31, 2015 / 7:17 pm

    That sounded like a wonderful way to spend a “snow day”. My parents live in Maine so they’ve been dealing with a lot of snow the week as well. I wish that I could say the same, Alaska should have a a LOT more snow than we do. BTW – your dog is beautiful and I’ll be she enjoyed having you home unexpectedly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Woman January 31, 2015 / 7:28 pm

      This was only the second significant snow fall we have had this winter and we really need the moisture. So even Alaska has below normal snow? My dog is terrific and always loves me to be around.

      Like

    • Good Woman January 31, 2015 / 7:40 pm

      Thank you for the nomination. I will gratefully accept especially because it is a great way to spread the word about my and other blogs. It’s going to take a little time to finish my acceptance blog especially looking for nominees who qualify who have not already received this award. So I hope you can be patient.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Manasvi January 31, 2015 / 8:27 pm

        I look forward to your post and nominations! 🙂 Take your time!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Good Woman February 3, 2015 / 3:14 am

          I have posted my acceptance blog and I think you got a pingback. Mission accomplished. Thanks again for nominating me.

          Like

  2. Ginny February 10, 2015 / 6:06 pm

    I am so glad you spent your gifted time the way you wanted and guilt-free.

    Like

Leave a Reply

