Meandering Through the World of Blog

In my Blogging 101 class I am learning about being a good neighbor in the blogging world, including visiting different sites, adding sites to follow and sharing information from different blogs.  I have found so many interesting blogs, and even though sometimes have no interest in some of the topics and back right out, I am broadening my interest base.  It truly amazes me how the blogging world represents such a diverse range of interests, topics and passions.  I feel somewhat like a kid in a candy store, moving from one delectable blog to another, reading one blog which gives me an interesting link to another blog,  clicking on it and finding a link to yet another one that I must read.  I become hopelessly lost and never find my way back to the first one that grabbed my attention.  I spend so much time sightseeing that I forget I have an assignment to do.

Back to the task at hand which is to expound on an intriguing blog that we had found and commented on.  This blog post Celebrate is a motivational post telling the reader, “You are really great.”  It should be encouraging to people who might feel that they do not have much intrinsic value.  It encourages them to celebrate themselves.  Heaven knows we need more positivity in the world.

The reader is challenged to record 5 good things about themselves each day for a week.  I tried it.  It was so much harder than it sounds.  I think I have a realistic picture of who I am, and it is somewhat positive,  but when I actually tried to list 5 things, the first things that came to my mind were all negative.  I really had to struggle to come up with 5 positive things.  And the challenge is to identify 5 separate things each day for a week.

The blogger makes a rather profound statement.

If I were to go to your friends, family, co-workers, and even strangers off the street, and asked them to tell me what is good, holy, and beautiful about you, they would give me lists a mile long.  I would have to cut them off because they would have thousands of things to say about you.

I think that is true.  So why is it so hard for me to come up with those things about myself?  I think I have an unwillingness to sound like I am conceited or that I am bragging, so I tend to be rather modest.  So for one day I identified 5 positive things about myself.  But I would struggle to go back and do it for a second day.  What intrigues me is I sense that young people are the target of this particular blog, but even I at a mature age, can go a long way in feeling positive about myself.   It goes to shows that perhaps the identity issues of youth, although we tend to de-emphasize them, are perhaps never resolved. We all know those people who appear to be so full of themselves and continually brag about how they are so great and superior in every way.  Who wants to be like them?  But those people likely suffer from extremely low self esteem as they try to convince others that they are so much better than how they actually feel about themselves.  I expect the list of 5 things would be very difficult for them to complete.

Perhaps you could visit the blog and try to list 5 good things about yourself.  Perhaps you could be more successful than I was.  Let us know if you found that to be challenging.

5 positive things about myself, and just another thread of my life.

4 thoughts on “Meandering Through the World of Blog

  1. Donna George January 18, 2015 / 3:59 am

    I agree with you about the blogging world – much to explore. There is so much good stuff to read.
    Great post. I will check out Celebrate.
    Happy Trails
    Donna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Helen Elizabeth January 23, 2015 / 12:38 am

      It feels like blogging has opened a whole new world to me. I feel I might become addicted and not have time for another thing!

      Like

  2. badfish2 January 18, 2015 / 4:28 am

    Very nicely done. And an interesting take on the assignment!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Helen Elizabeth January 23, 2015 / 12:39 am

    Thanks for reading it and for taking the time to comment. I feel that it is my least favorite post because it was kind of a forced assignment, but I appreciate the affirmation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

