Who I Am and Why I’m Here

I am Helen,  a career person and mother, whose child had the audacity to grow up, go to college, get her degree and go on out on her own in a state far away; whose husband had the terrible misfortune of succumbing to lung cancer;  whose long-time involvement in a successful career now is approaching an end.  These are three huge life-changing events and although they occurred over a number of years, they greatly change life’s course.

Of course, there are other things that are very important to me (listed in no particular order): my dogs, my faith, Green Bay Packer football, Wisconsin Badger football and basketball, New Mexico Lobo basketball, counted cross-stitch and other needle arts, reading, my step-children and step-grandchildren, my siblings and nieces and nephews.  As I approach retirement I feel like an adolescent wrestling with the question of what will I do with the rest of my life.

In this blog I hope to share my journey of redefining my life in view of my changing circumstances.  I don’t know where this blog will take me because I don’t know where I might go, but I am starting it now in the event that it might become an important and significant part of who I become.  I expect it will be an eclectic blog and perhaps somewhat unfocused as I explore many varied interests and share some of my accomplishments and musings and lessons learned.

2 thoughts on “Who I Am and Why I’m Here

  1. Ginny January 8, 2015 / 4:47 am

    Life does throw us some curve balls, doesn’t it? I wish you happiness on your journey and will be checking in with you now and then. Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

    Like

    • Helen Elizabeth January 8, 2015 / 6:05 am

      I love your blog! Cross stitch is my passion and it is so inspirational to see your work. You can tell I am sure that I am brand new to blogging and I am mainly trying to find my way around.

      Like

Leave a Reply

